Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

GOSH I ate a lot today

leave a comment »

Foods eaten: Eggs, Butter, Chicken, White bread roll, Jersey cow milk, Pear, Cashews, Pork chop, Savoy cabbage, Swede, Blackstrap molasses.
Kcals: 2,544, Protein: 112g, Fat: 191g, Carbs: 91g.

Noticed a slight patch of athlete’s foot whilst in the shower. I haven’t had any for at least a year or more. But eczema is looking really good today. Weird. Feet feel rough and skin dry too.

Slight low blood sugar episode this morning after yesterday’s carb-binge, but I was expecting much worse and didn’t get it. Maybe the banana was a problem? I am doing a lot of cheating and making mistakes. I ate a lot today. Banana does make me very hungry.

I seem to be coping with carbs a LOT better. Sue Dengate implies that hypoglycaemia is in fact just a delayed reaction food intolerance, but I disagree. I think it’s more complicated than that. From years of noting symptoms I know that I react to ALL carbs regardless. I’ve noticed other symptoms with particular foods (bananas make me abnormally hungry, whole sprouted/sourdough breads make me very irritable, while white bread just makes me bloated, spicy foods flare up my eczema, MSG makes me feel horrendous the next day), but apart from that I really do react to all carbs, potatoes, pure sugar, and additive-free bread included.

I am wondering whether salicylates actually impair the blood-sugar control mechanism? There may be a vitamin K connection here.

Neither I nor J. could sleep last night, no idea what we ate. Tired today but still fairly clear-headed.

N.B. We think our inability to sleep was down to the cod we both ate (the only thing we both ate yesterday was the homemade fish and chips). I looked on the amine chart and fish that is not entirely fresh can contain high levels of tyramine, which has a stimulant effect. So screw fish, if we can’t get a good supply of genuinely fresh fish (i.e. by living at the coast), it is probably doing more harm than good.

Written by alienrobotgirl

27 February, 2006 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Failsafe Diary

Leave a Reply

