Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Tobacco room

leave a comment »

Foods eaten: Eggs, Butter, Jersey cow milk, Pear, Double cream, Greek yoghurt, Chicken, Brussels sprouts, Banana, Cashews.
Kcals: 2082, Protein: 87g, Fat: 156g, Carbs: 83g.

I continue to have no eczema. My complexion looks great. Nor am I craving any kind of food this morning. Today I have been forced to work in the main office and I chose the tobacco-smelling room. About half an hour after I got in here I started to feel pretty weird: hunger in my stomach, blurred, dizzy head, pressure on my sinuses. I felt fine yesterday in the satellite office. I also haven’t had any carbs this morning. Is this plain hypoglycaemia or salicylate related hypoglycaemia? Unfortunately as I decided to stop eating bread I don’t have an easy source of carbohydrate to hand, and I’m reluctant to eat my pear or my milk so early in the day. The local shops are all health shops and the only carbohydrates they sell are full of salicylates (dried fruits, honey, nuts, jams), or amines (chocolate). Amongst all of the brands of soy yoghurts they do, I believe there is one brand of cow’s milk yoghurt, made with skimmed milk. This is what the world is coming to. Health food is so unhealthy.

Later: at lunch time I realised the room is affecting me further. No sign of eczema, but the inside of my nose has flared up, as it occasionally does when I get eczema flare ups. Interesting that inhaled salicylates are bothering my nose! Confounding factors: I also ate Greek yoghurt at lunch.

Later still: this evening I am hungry, headachy and foggy. Could the hunger be down to the serotonin/histamine amines in the banana (I knew before I started this diet that bananas make me unusually hungry)? Or could it be a hypoglycaemic reaction from eating less fat+carbs today? Or some sort of bread addiction comedown? Or could it be because I’ve spent the whole day in a room full of tobacco smells? This is difficult, there are always so many confounding factors!

Written by alienrobotgirl

2 March, 2006 at 11:00 pm

Posted in Failsafe Diary

Leave a Reply

