Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Reactive hypoglycaemia and salicylates

leave a comment »

Reactive hypoglycaemia is something that you can’t measure with a blood sugar test. Reactive hypoglycaemia is often dismissed as a myth because when the patient’s blood sugar is measured, it is almost always normal. However, what you really need to measure is the insulin, glucagon, cortisol, and adrenaline levels, all of which are out of whack in response to the challenge, but are still very effective at maintaining a correct blood sugar.

However, from what I’ve trolled around and found on the internet, salicylates cause high insulin levels and therefore can cause a hypoglycaemic reaction. They don’t cause high insulin levels in one or two individuals though, they seem cause the same reaction in everyone, but most people have enough control over their blood sugar that they never notice anything wrong.

My whole family have blood sugar problems of one sort or another. My sister has exactly the same symptoms of hypoglycaemia as me and also low-carbs to keep them under control. I am really worried about the size of my dad’s belly: for years he has fallen asleep after meals and is still claiming it has nothing to do with all the potatoes and bread. My paternal uncle went on Atkins independently of mine or my sister’s influence and discovered he felt much better. He uses it to control his symptoms. My granddad was a T2 diabetic who really loved his jam, sugar, and honey. My mum suffered from terrible hypoglycaemia and PMT when she was younger. She suffered so much with her ‘hormones’ that she eventually went on to HRT, which didn’t really cure her, just suppressed the symptoms a bit, and less than ten years later the HRT gave her a brain aneurysm.

I can spot a hypoglycaemic a mile off, and there are at least three in this office of thirty people. They are invariably stressed people, who are perfectly lovely until they get hungry. Some people just need a little more fat and a little less flavour in their diets.

One of the girls in the office eats only fruit (apple and a banana) and weight-watchers yoghurts for lunch and it’s no wonder she gets confused and panicked.

What is it about an-apple-and-a-banana? How come I know so many girls who eat an-apple-and-a-banana for lunch every day? Aside from the delightful food colourings and flavourings in the yoghurt and all of the empty carbs, if I eat an apple, I am usually off my head with anger (salicylates), and if I eat a banana I am usually starving hungry in a couple of hours time (amines). I’m not suggesting everyone reacts this way to the fabled apple-and-a-banana combo, but I find it pretty worrying in an individual that expresses the same symptoms!

A guy I used to know at work was really fit and athletic but he lived on a diet of crisps, chocolate bars and fruit, and he would be totally off his head with confusion in the afternoons. I used to be able to walk up behind him and he would jump out of his seat in surprise because of all of the adrenaline rushing round his system. It was such a shame, because aside from his wacky food-related mood swings and depression, he was a lovely guy.

One of my friend’s brothers is a very, very angry man. He is a doctor on a macrobiotic diet. ‘Nuff said. Her sister is a complete drama-queen. My friend herself worries me because she gets very stressed but controls and internalises it and copes by smoking cigarettes and drinking wine and eating lots of salads and fruit. Her little girl is rather difficult when she gets hungry. Her dad is a diabetic. She had grommets put in her ears when she was a child. Food chemical intolerance?

Another of my friends has some mild symptoms approaching meal times, but I can’t bring myself to talk her about it because it’s not my place. She knows she loves her carbs. She tried low-carbing for a while but her meals consisted largely of mature cheddar and chorizo, which I really wasn’t too approving of at the time. I now know they are packed with amines, sulphites and other nasties. She didn’t eat enough fat either which didn’t help her blood sugar. No wonder she got tired and irritable and came out in a rash! She blamed fat at the time, but I’m wondering whether food chemical intolerance was involved.

There was a really bad hypoglycaemic at my last workplace, she was really panicky and over-emotional. I got her to go on Atkins for a while and she really calmed down, but she gave up because she couldn’t stop craving bread. She went back to being her sulky, whiny, childish self. I wonder which kind of bread? The stuff with calcium propionate in it? Or maybe she had an opioid-like peptide problem?

By contrast other friends and relatives I know are perfectly fine. They can eat all kinds of crap without it affecting their personalities, even if their bodies suffer a bit. My aunt eats about ten packets of crisps a day and smokes like a dragon and is still a lovely person, but has awful varicose veins and apparently gets hangovers from grapes! One of my friends, a muslim girl, weighs under eight stone, has the figure and personality of a goddess, and lives on pure sugar and spices – she has acne though!

Before I found failsafe I had to stay on a low carbohydrate diet, because if I ate carbohydrate I hated my personality and how it made me feel about everything and I really, really wanted to be nice. It made me stressed, judgmental, confused, panicked, prone to flashes of anger, hating people, impatient. Okay, I’m never going to be a truly tactful and considerate person, I can still be mocking, judgmental, and a bit of a bitch. But I was much nicer after I got on a low-carbohydrate diet even though I was still eating a lot of salicylates and amines. I think that the hypoglycaemic effect is independent of direct reactions to food chemicals, but can be caused by or made worse by food chemicals.

Written by alienrobotgirl

3 March, 2006 at 11:52 am

Leave a Reply

