Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Do my eyes look greener to you?

with one comment

I’m sure my eyes are getting greener. They used to be kind of dull and colourless when you looked from a distance. I keep going and checking in the mirror. I’ve heard of colour changes in eyes and hair after going on the program, but I didn’t think it would happen to me. Which is silly, really, because my hair and skin changed colour when I went on the pill, then again when I went on Atkins. I had such dull light brown hair at school, and such a pale, anaemic look that I was nicknamed “Ghost.” My skin is much more tanned and my hair is blonder these days. Why not my eyes too? I’m really sure they’re a brighter colour.

The last couple of days I’ve been having a bit of a skin flare-up again. Up until now I’ve been focusing on salicylates. I used too much shampoo yesterday and got tinnitus as a result. But even before that my skin had flared up. Think I know why. A couple of days ago I ate some lentils I’d cooked and left cold in the fridge for a couple of days, yesterday I did the same with some chicken that had been left over from the weekend. Amines! This morning I’ve got back ache, and I went into “staring absently” mode. I have noticed this before but not really noticed it. It is definitely something I do especially when I feel bad. I can only describe it as ADD. This morning my wee wasn’t cloudy and didn’t smell of vegetables and marmite, so I’m taking that as a bad sign! Going to drink lots of water and take bicarb all day to see what happens. Don’t like taking bicarb all the time because of the water retention/bloating/blood pressure potential, but it seems to be helping too much to stop.

Another weird symptom I’ve noticed is that ever since I’ve started this diet I’ve been having problems with my nose. Sneezes, bogies, irritation, and specks of blood when I blow my nose. When I was a teenager I watered and sneezed constantly, especially when I sat down to a meal. My nose stopped bothering me after I went on Atkins. I guess if there’s anything that is going to be affected by aromatic compounds like phenols, salicylates, and amines, it’s the nose. Detox? Carbs too high?

Lentils are low salicylate a bit to high for some people on the elimination diet. I keep eating them because I’m worried about folate. But they’re full of poor quality plant protein. Should be eating eggs instead. Must. Stop. Eating. Naughty. Foods.

Got a package through the post this morning. Hurrah! My huge order of bicarb, citric acid, epsom salts and sodium lauryl sulphate has arrived. Now I just have to figure out how to make them into bubble bath and shampoo!

Written by alienrobotgirl

8 March, 2006 at 11:44 am

Posted in Failsafe Diary

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] that it is there to protect the eyes from UV radiation. This has an interesting connection to the eye colour changes I […]


Leave a Reply

