Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Seasonal aspect of food chemical sensitivity

leave a comment »

However many reported a return of the ear infections when the weather got cooler, after Easter, through winter and spring. I gradually learnt which were the most risky months from a family sensitivity history of the family allergic symptoms. Many had family members whose asthma, chronic tonsillitis, or hay fever was worse late autumn, winter or spring. What I found was that most could relax their diet in the summer months [from Christmas to Easter [in Australia]] and then they became more strict in the cooler months. Diet & Chronic Ear Infections by Joan Breakey.

This is interesting. When I went on my high fat diet last year it was spring, and I felt very good all through the spring and summer, even though I was still eating green vegetables. I have always suspected there is a seasonal component and that natural sunlight helps. My ears hardly bother me in the summer. They didn’t bother me at all when I lived in sunny Nice. I think that somehow, the combination of warmer weather and high fat/calorie diet was the key. It all went wrong when I went to Spain in the summer though. But in Spain I was eating slices of melon, spicy foods, cured meats, and fish and shellfish every day. Fish decays so rapidly it’s a hazard in a hot country. We’ve already been caught out by it once.

Written by alienrobotgirl

8 March, 2006 at 12:41 pm

Leave a Reply

