Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Snow arrived

leave a comment »

Foods eaten: Eggs, White bread, Butter, Cashews, Duck, Green beans, Potatoes, Cream, Jersey cow milk, Creme fraiche, Chocolate, Sweet chestnuts.
Kcals: 1813, Protein: 51g, Fat: 149g, Carbs: 67g.

The snow arrived this morning and has been falling all day. Big white fluffy flakes. As you can see my diet went slightly wrong today. I have felt very good all day: must stop doing this. As soon as I start to feel good, I start to take liberties.

I don’t relish the thought of talking about my menstrual cycle on the web but in this case it’s relevant. My period started today – a couple of days early, I think. The only other time it started early was when I went on Atkins for the first time. This month I had about four or five days warning: bloating, migraines, sugar cravings, spotting. This fits perfectly with the crossover point four or five days before the start of menstruation where progesterone falls and oestrogen rises to dominate.

This is interesting because normally my PMS symptoms come on strongly a day before I start, with a foggy brain, then I get terrible shoulder and neck tension and headaches, and inevitably use some sort of (salicylate based!) muscle relaxant and feel rotten for a couple of days after I start. Then a couple of days in to my period I get a really bad migraine, and after that start to feel better.

Instead, I’ve woken up feeling pretty good today and I’m wondering whether I’ve been through the PMS part already. It will be interesting to see if my PMS reduces over the next few months as it is linked to food intolerance, and food intolerance symptoms are usually worse during the PMS time. As an aside, histamine is required in order to induce ovulation. Histamine build up might therefore interfere with your ability to correctly determine your fertile period.

My menstrual cycle is normally regular as a clock and is 29-30 days long. I often wondered whether this was one of the contributing reasons to why I never felt right on the pill – which demanded a 28 day cycle out of my 29-30 day body. The lunar cycle is 29.5 days long, so I feel particularly lucky to be in tune with the planet.

But my menstrual cycle is out of sync with the moon. One of the fertility awareness methods that Katie Singer describes is night-lighting. We know that when women work or live together their periods become synchronised and more regular. The same happens when women are exposed to moonlight. Under moonlight exposure, ovulation occurs at the full moon and menstruation begins at the darkest point of the month on the edge of the new moon. This is called the Derwan effect. Many studies (by men) that have tried to show connections between the menstrual cycle and the moon have foolishly missed this effect because they fail to take account of the fact that women are rarely exposed to natural moonlight since they started to live in houses and draw their curtains, hence our menstrual cycle is less likely to run on time!

It also strikes me that I accidentally started failsafe during my ovulation period. The period of feeling very good and my eczema clearing up corresponded exactly with the luteal phase of my cycle when progesterone is dominant. I started to feel bad again and super-sensitive after the crossover when oestrogen became dominant. It will be interesting to see whether this correlation continues, or whether my hormones will even out as I continue to detox.

Written by alienrobotgirl

12 March, 2006 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Failsafe Diary

Leave a Reply

