Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Big bad

with 2 comments

Foods eaten: Eggs, Cream, Jersey cow milk, Decaf espresso, Beef, Swede, Potatoes.
Kcals: 2128, Protein: 56g, Fat: 189g, Carbs: 47g.

I had some bad stuff happen yesterday.

I haven’t decided whether this blog should be anonymous or not, or just hard to find. There are things I want to write about that I can’t do if certain friends read it. I have had friends who have fallen out with me over my diet in the past, friends who find my writings and investigation of diet increasingly disturbing to their world-view. I get misinterpreted a lot, and it wears you down after a while, especially as I impose so much self-censorship as to try not to offend. I guess people will always read extra layers into things you write, whether they’re intentional or not. Apparently in writing an article about science versus superstition on my other blog, I have unintentionally created a big woolly metaphor about ominovory versus vegetarianism and have accidentally offended a pescatarian friend. I’m wondering whether I need to call an end to this friendship, because this friend has said some very hurtful things to me in an email. I’ve tried very hard not to offend her in the past. I’m not sure I can walk on eggshells anymore. What the hell, I just can’t summon up the anger to care anymore.

So after that unpleasant incident, there was another one. Last night someone very close went and had a full-blown tonic-clonic on me [I am not supposed to talk about this on the internet]. I’ve never been there to see it happen before. He scared the bejesus out of me. I don’t think I’ve ever been so scared in my life. But as I say, I’m not allowed to talk about this on the internet.

We’re going to look through his diet. Every fit has been associated with a trip away from home during which dubious food has been eaten. The suspects are MSG, carbs, aged proteins, salt, and missing out on his multivitamin. Or something else we don’t know about.

The chemical causes of epilepsy are fairly well known. They involve too much glutamic acid (an excitory neurotransmitter), and not enough GABA. “Vitamin B6, manganese, taurine and lysine can increase both GABA synthesis and effects, while aspartic acid and [glutamic acid] probably inhibit GABA effects.”

We read an interesting explanation from a vet for epileptic fits in dogs a few weeks ago.

Written by alienrobotgirl

14 March, 2006 at 2:42 pm

Posted in Failsafe Diary

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Friends don’t have to agree with each other. Half the reason I reach out on the internet is the sheer amount of vegetarians and vegans in the area I live, Byron Bay, Australia. I don’t like confrontation, it’s boring. So I lay my findings on the net and speak to people who do want to know. It doesn’t stop me from saying what I think to my friends but the ones who stayed love me all the more for my honesty and forthrightness. I’ve even managed to help some recover from vegetarianism. Keep speaking about what you’re discovering, just stop as soon as someone argues. It’s not worth the effort. If they’re not willing to see another point of view, leave them be.BlessJoanne

    The Nourisher

    16 October, 2007 at 3:11 am

  2. Thanks Joanne!

    Alien Robot Girl

    16 October, 2007 at 2:11 pm


Leave a Reply

