Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

More anti-vegetarian statistics

leave a comment »

Based on yesterday’s anti-vegetarian rant, I thought it would be interesting to find out how many lower life forms I munch my way through during the average year.

Based on my current diet, I eat half a chicken every week (3 days of meals), one serving of beef, one serving of pork, and two servings of lamb. So during a year I eat:

  • 20 chickens (a veritable hen-house massacre) per year
  • 5 ducks per year
  • 1 goose per year
  • 1-2 game birds (partridge, pheasant) per year
  • One half of a lamb (1 lamb in just under 2 years assuming I eat two 4 oz chops per week)
  • Less than one sixth of a pig (1 pig in 6 and a half years assuming I eat a full 6 oz chop or serving of belly)
  • One twenty-ninth of a cow (1 cow in 29 years assuming I eat a full 6 oz steak)

This is rather less than the “several cows, pigs, and sheep” that the vegetarian propaganda pushed on me as a teenager told me I ate every year.

Leather

In fact, I undoubtedly kill more cows to provide leather than to eat. My leather bed head, my leather sofa and chairs, the leather seats in my car, and my leather coats, shoes and boots. I calculate at least four cows have gone into the making of my furniture, and another cow has supplied my suede coat and all of the shoes I have bought over the last few years.

There are many so-called vegetarians out there who regard leather as “just a by-product” of meat eating. Leather is expensive because demand for it outstrips the demand for beef. When I was a vegetarian I never wore leather shoes. Yet most of the other vegetarians I knew at the time wore leather shoes, boots, and even coats! What hypocrites! Eating one cow every five years would just about provide me with enough shoes for that period, it certainly would not also provide a vegetarian with shoes too!

Written by alienrobotgirl

18 March, 2006 at 10:08 am

Posted in Vegetarianism

Leave a Reply

