Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Air fresheners

leave a comment »

Foods eaten: Eggs, Cream, Jersey cow milk, Creme fraiche, Ham (1 oz), Pear, Swede, Butter, Brussels sprouts.
Kcals: 1875, Protein: 78g, Fat: 151g, Carbs: 48g.

Yesterday I had to go into the office, not to work but to act as a taxi driver. I’ve been working in a room that doesn’t have any smells and I’ve been doing alright. Yesterday, someone had put an air freshener in the room. I couldn’t find the blasted thing. I thought “oh well, I wasn’t too bad at the hospital”, and sat down and got on.

I wanted to either write some more of my book or get on with an essay about failsafe. Within half an hour I had descended into my ADD blurry headed staring “internet research mode”. This is the reason I know so much about nutrition: I get into a state where I can’t concentrate at all on doing anything productive, but I am still capable of reading things and scanning web pages so that’s what I do. I have lost so many days like this at the office. I developed the worst headache, and I started to feel really sick. I had to go to bed early with a cracking migraine.

Today I asked whether anyone knew where the air freshener was as they give me headaches, and no one knew, but a helpful guy unlocked the window for me so at least I could get some fresh air. Five minutes later some girl from the room next door came in complaining loudly about how cold it was (it was not), and two of the other girls agreed loudly so they shut the window. I can’t describe how gutting this was at the time.

I lost another day. I started to feel sick. I got another migraine. I had to go to bed early. I’ve written the last two posts in retrospect, because I couldn’t even string a sentence together. When I spoke all my words kept coming out confused and jumbled.

Written by alienrobotgirl

21 March, 2006 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Failsafe Diary

Leave a Reply

