Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Rollercoaster of recovery

with one comment

Foods eaten: Eggs, Cream, Jersey cow milk, Creme fraiche, Ham (1 oz), Cashews, Pear, Sugar, Lamb, Green beans, Potato, Beef tallow, Butter, Bicarb soda, Citric acid, Ascorbic acid.
Kcals: 2195, Protein: 62g, Fat: 182g, Carbs: 75g.

Not sure what I can do to solve this office problem. I feel quite trapped by it. I’ve been at home today. It’s taken me most of the day to recover. I’m still very irritable. I had the shakes this morning, I was really hypoglycaemic. The inside of my nose is raw, it really hurts.

I can’t believe how bad this reaction has been. I keep questioning myself: am I really experiencing this? Could it be psychosomatic? Am I going crazy? At the moment it’s like the longer I go feeling clear, the worse the reactions feel when I have them. Apparently this is something that is supposed to get better after a while, but it’s horrible right now.

There’s a chance the reaction could have been down to something other than air freshener. J. has complained of feeling a bit “off”. But both times the symptoms came on when I was being exposed to that sickly air freshener smell, and the fact that my nose feels so raw doesn’t feel like a coincidence. I’ve had a lot of reactions like this at the office. I just put them down to hypoglycaemia.

The company is moving into new offices in about six weeks. There should be more space there. The offices will stink of new paint and carpets to start off with. I’m hoping I’ll be able to find a room where I can sit by myself with the window open. Can I grin and bear it until then?

These posts seem very self indulgent at the moment. I’m sorry for subjecting people to all this noise. I don’t really like talking about my symptoms very much – it’s like saying “look at me, I’m a hypochondriac and I want to have a whine!”

This is the old invisible illness problem. You look alright, so you must be alright. I suppose I’m pretty hung up about it. When my family had fibromyalgia, certain people thought my parents were hypochondriacs, or they should just snap out of it. So my parents used to talk about how ill they felt all the time in an effort to convince people of the gravity of the situation. This really made things worse because then said people thought they were whining, or that they were just boring and should be avoided. So with everyone but my partner, I’ve generally treated this as an off-limits topic, along with other bristly subjects like politics, religion, and indeed vegetarianism.

Hey. I feel better for working that out. This blogging business is like therapy – something I never got from my teenaged diaries! I guess knowing someone (anyone) might read it makes a difference.

Written by alienrobotgirl

22 March, 2006 at 10:26 pm

Posted in Failsafe Diary

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been reading and I really don’t feel you’re whining, at all. I know just how you feel. I think a lot of people can identify with your symptoms, even if they don’t realise their cause. I often get the sensation, not that I am a hypochondriac, but that everyone thinks I am! And now I feel like I have to hide my dietary restrictions because people simply don’t take any of it seriously. Although he’s very supportive, I’m convinced that my partner thinks I’ve gone crazy. He keeps asking ‘this is only temporary, right?” and I don’t have the heart to tell him otherwise. The idea that we’ll never eat in a restaurant again is hard to bear for both of us.Anyway, keep up the blogging. I seem to learn something from your insights every day. – Annabelle

    Anonymous

    23 March, 2006 at 12:41 am


Leave a Reply

