Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

SLS and bicarb soda

leave a comment »

Foods eaten: Eggs, Cream, Jersey cow milk, Chicken liver pate, Bread, Chicken breast, Lentils, Potatoes, Decaf espresso, Golden syrup, Bicarb soda, Citric acid, Ascorbic acid, Unknown seasonings including pepper.
Kcals: 2169, Protein: 88g, Fat: 173g, Carbs: 52g.

As you can see things went a little wrong today. We ate out at a local restaurant and I had an off-diet meal. I tried to pick the most suitable things. The chicken liver pate was fairly bland, but the lentils and potatoes were really heavily seasoned and tasted incredibly strong to me. All I could taste was pepper and what I think was stock cubes (MSG).

I have a small raised patch of eczema on my chin again. I think this may also be related to stopping all the vitamins, but obviously I’ve confounded my variables by having the meal. Whatever. It doesn’t hurt or itch and isn’t too red. I suppose in hindsight stopping my vitamins straight after I had a reaction to air freshener wasn’t a good idea scientifically either. But as I was almost out of expensive internet vitamins, I thought now was as good a time as any.

Sodium lauryl sulphate: if you should ever happen to buy any pure SLS to bathe with, DON’T get the powdery stuff. There are two kinds: anhydrous, which is powdery, and monohydrate, which is little tiny balls or hundreds and thousands. I was daft enough to get the anhydrous version, which is very fine powder and gets airborne really easily. I can’t even open the bag without putting a scarf or a towel around my face. Inhaling it is horrible. Soap is great stuff for breaking down fats, including the fatty surfactant of your lungs. If you inhale it, you will cough like crazy.

Bicarb soda: I was reminded by Joan Breakey’s book “Are you food sensitive?”, the bicarb soda remedy ONLY works for salicylates. Somewhere along the way I forgot about that and started using it for all reactions!

Written by alienrobotgirl

24 March, 2006 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Failsafe Diary

Leave a Reply

