Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

First day of spring

leave a comment »

Foods eaten: Eggs, Hollandaise sauce (egg yolk, butter), Cream, Jersey cow milk, Chicken drumsticks, Potato, Swede, Chicken fat, Pear, Cashews.
Kcals: 2092, Protein: 59g, Fat: 191g, Carbs: 35g.

Another really beautiful day today. It was actually WARM outside. My ear was good enough that I managed to walk out in the park without being zipped up in my coat hood like Kenny from South Park.

After last night’s off-diet meal, I barely slept last night. My brain was racing again. I think this is an amines thing, because serotonin and related substances regulate sleep. Also, J. was doing an awful lot of twitching and jerking (not just dreaming) and I got worried about him having a seizure. I’m sure it was what he ate, the chicken liver pate, bread, and a fish main course with Mediterranean vegetables, along with alcohol withdrawal. Everything there is suspect! Today, my head is fuzzy and mushy.

J. was away the other day and came home craving eggs. He gets fatty food cravings the day after he drinks. We had a high-fat breakfast of poached eggs and Hollandaise sauce. You make Hollandaise in a Bain-Marie, just melt some butter and add it to some egg yolks and keep stirring.

I am really looking forward to the clocks changing tonight. Waking up at 5:30 AM in the morning is not much fun. It was more like 4:00 AM this morning. The Vernal Equinox is undoubtedly playing a part, but so is messing up on the diet.

Today’s candidate for food chemical sensitivity was another poor little kid at the supermarket. He was bawling his eyes out and screaming because he wanted a particular brand of BREAD. The only way his mum could control him was by picking him up and carrying him to the checkout. His mum was a mature, thin, prematurely wrinkled, harried-looking woman with a belly and no butt (read: “I am on a low fat diet”, “I eat loads of bread”, “I am probably a coeliac”). Her entire basket was full of bakery goods. Bread. Bagels. Hot cross buns. Biscuits. And people patronise me for not eating a balanced diet!

Written by alienrobotgirl

25 March, 2006 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Failsafe Diary

Leave a Reply

