Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Histamine experiment

leave a comment »

Foods eaten: Eggs, Jersey cow milk, Cream, Tortilla (potatoes, egg, onion, some pepper & tomato), Greek yoghurt, Lentils, Chickpeas, Bulgur wheat, Pear, Butter.
Kcals: 2088, Protein: 67g, Fat: 132g, Carbs: 134g.

Fast rundown of the past few days:

I’ve been away for the weekend and haven’t been recording what I’ve eaten. I’m surprised I did so well. Friday I managed to stay failsafe. Saturday I did okay but had some E282 calcium propionate in toast. Then I went and ate a sticky toffee pudding dessert on Saturday night. Sunday the same. I also had some new potatoes with skins on, some celery, iceberg lettuce, and a green spring onion. The onions are supposed to be failsafe but they have always had a tendency to give me acid. I got really bad acid. Monday, I did okay. Tuesday, more calcium propionate plus some caffeinated coffee and some plain crisps (ingredients: potato, palm oil, salt). I had a bit of a flare up in my nose and I think it was the coffee.

Observations: my skin has been perfectly clear since I woke up full of energy on Friday morning. I was good all Friday and Saturday, Sunday I got irritable and tired (sticky toffee pudding I fear). I still have these strange “measles” on my breasts. Health: 90%.

Today as I haven’t been too bad, I thought I’d do a one day only histamine experiment (note to self: perhaps not a fair experiment in light of the tortilla!).

I thought that lentils were failsafe, but it turns out that whilst they don’t contain salicylates, they do contain some histamine according to the allergy dietitian site. Ditto for chickpeas. Let’s see what they do.

Written by alienrobotgirl

5 April, 2006 at 7:00 pm

Posted in Failsafe Diary

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

