Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Methylation and food chemical intolerance

with 2 comments

This is a fascinating article about the connections between undermethylation, homocysteine, and food chemical intolerance.

“Getting methyl groups “turns on” detox reactions that detox the body of chemicals, including phenols. So if you are phenol sensitive, and you increase your methylation, then theoretically your body can process more phenols. […] Getting methyl groups “turns on” serotonin, and thus melatonin, production. Therefore, if you are a under-methylator, you can increase your methylation and have higher more appropriate levels of serotonin and melatonin. This means you may not have to take SSRIs, or may have improved sleep.” Enzyme Stuff

This gives us a potential connection between elevated homocysteine levels and food chemicals. This should be able to be tested for.

Epilepsy can be connected to low methylation levels. Poor sleep, perhaps poor melatonin levels, can cause nocturnal epilepsy. Elevated homocysteine levels are regularly found in epileptics undergoing traditional medication. I wonder if anyone has studied the homocysteine levels of epileptics who don’t medicate?

This methylation connection to food chemical detoxification also explains why my vitamin formula temporarily cleared up my skin problems!

  • Vitamin A 10,000i.u.
  • Vitamin D 800i.u.
  • Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) 400i.u.
  • Vitamin B12 (methylcobalamin*) 1000mcg
  • Vitamin B6 50mg
  • Folic Acid 400mcg
  • Molybdenum 150mcg*

*Methylcobalamin, or methyl-B12 is a special form of B12 that acts as a methyl donor. Methyl donors are an essential part of this formula!

** I didn’t consider the molybdenum an essential part of the refined formula I was taking, though I was taking it for most of the time I had success in keeping my skin problems under control due to my concerns about sulfites that eventually led me to failsafe.

I originally started taking this whole formula for protection against sulphites, to which I am sensitive. I was astonished when it cleared up my skin.

I was concerned that the formula was merely masking the underlying problem by speeding up my turnover of skin cells, but it appears the formula – including the molybdenum – is actually affecting the cause of the problem too, because this same formula is essential to lower homocysteine and provide adequate methylation reactions. I’m not sure how essential A & D are to this process, but they were important for my skin.

Other methyl donors might help too, including SAMe (s-adenosyl-l-methionine), DMG (dimethylglycine), and TMG (trimethylglycine).

Written by alienrobotgirl

7 April, 2006 at 1:41 pm

Posted in Methyl Donors

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I stopped taking it about two weeks ago – I had tried to stop taking it a couple of times earlier during the elimination, but still noticed immediate flare ups because I wasn’t yet clean.The vitamins I’m using are all synthetic and free from herbs and additives/flavours. Making vitamins from natural sources is very expensive. Manufacturers prefer using microbes or chemical reactions. I will post on this shortly!

    Alien Robot Girl

    7 April, 2006 at 4:35 pm

  2. Do you still take this vitamin formula, or did you give it up when you went failsafe? If your epileptic friend may start this formula, are you concerned about the non-failsafe food sources of the vitamins? I found that most of the sources (if they were even listed), for my vitamins, were salicylate foods, especially for B vitamins. Also, my source for Vitamin A was Carlson’s cod liver oil, which is high in amines, so I gave that up too. The only supps I’m taking are Cal/mag in the form of either dolomite or Okinawan Coral and pure ascorbic acid crystals. I do worry about not getting enough B12 and B6.Incidentally, my Dad has epilepsy, which he developed late in life. I always suspected it was from a bad fall down a flight of stairs he had about 2 years before the onset of the epilepsy, from which he may have sustained some brain damage, but that was only speculation on my part.

    Mother Nuture

    7 April, 2006 at 4:03 pm


Leave a Reply

