Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Veins and salicylates

leave a comment »

Something I want to pick up on that I forgot to mention last week is the improvement in my varicose veins. I don’t have many, just an area on my left thigh. I noticed – and saw reported by others on messageboards – an improvement in my varicose veins after I first went on Atkins. It didn’t last though.

One patch of spider veins has disappeared completely (is this physically possible?? what happened??). I had several blue veins. There are now only three, and one of those has nearly disappeared, and the rest have shrunk down and are really small.

I took a large number of remedies (megadoses of vitamin C, bioflavinoids, you name it) to try to improve this little patch of veins, but nothing has ever worked.

Salicylates are sometimes used to “treat” varicose veins.

On the other hand, salicylates thin the blood, and I am a thrombophiliac. Just at the moment I can’t shake the feeling that my ability to ‘store up’ salicylates has actually ironically been protecting me. I’ve had quite a bit of “war wound” pain in my DVT leg during the last week. It was very bad at the weekend and I had to wear my flight stockings, especially at night. It’s gone again the last couple of days, so perhaps it was just a temporary reaction or a sign of some deeper healing going on.

Salicylates do seem to have slowed down my ability to heal. I have a scar on my shoulder from where I fell off my bike last summer. It remained very pink/white for all of that time, but in the last couple of weeks has almost faded out, which is fascinating (to me at least).

Amines and glutamates are all vasoactive. Salicylates are vasoactive too.

Written by alienrobotgirl

7 April, 2006 at 6:17 am

Posted in Failsafe Diary

Leave a Reply

