Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Reactions to grains

with one comment

Foods eaten: Eggs, Oats, Jersey cow milk, Cream, Chicken thigh, Sugar, Cashews, Pear, Instant decaf coffee.
Kcals: 1691, Protein: 70g, Fat: 128g, Carbs: 59g.

Over the last week or two I’ve been doing a kind of sloppy, half-intentional experiment with grains. I’ve eaten a serving every day. During this time I’ve felt pretty good, about 90%. I felt good enough to do the histamine experiment without thinking I was confounding myself.

I ate quite a few servings of non-Failsafe calcium propionate bread up until last Wednesday, and didn’t appear to react apart from the strange “measles” that appeared all over my breasts. I cut out the calcium propionate but continued to eat grains. Well, the “measles” haven’t gone away, they’ve just changed. They really just looked like faint pink blotches. They’ve lessened in quantity but become larger in size and are now starting to look more like a rash or a case of very mild classic eczema. I also have a few blotches around the tops of my legs.

I’ve noticed a few things about the grains. Like having dreams about croissants. That just can’t be right! I’ve started to really really look forward to my small bowl of porridge in the morning, like thinking about it at night before I go to bed! I’ve never really had feelings of that extent about milk or cream. I’ve also had the shakes a few times in the morning pre-breakfast.

I’ve only been eating an average of one serving of grains a day because more just bungs me up like a cork. I’ve never really gotten on with grains and have had an aversion to them ever since being a kid because I associated them with constipation. I’m also aware of particular advice to avoid grains, and even specifically oats, if there is eczema present in the individual or their family.

Oats do not contain gluten but do contain some gluten-like proteins. If I have a skin problem caused or exacerbated by oats as well as wheat, it probably means the problem is due to lectins or opioids, not gluten ‘allergy’. Gluten allergies are frequently overdiagnosed. Often people who believe they have a gluten allergy try to justify strange reactions to oats by declaring them “all contaminated in the factory,” which is basically pretty unlikely.

Written by alienrobotgirl

9 April, 2006 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Failsafe Diary

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] first time I did a bread trial, I performed it with commercial white bread, and I developed tiny spots of eczema all over my body. […]


Leave a Reply

