Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Decaf coffee, celeriac, shop bought beef

with one comment

Ever since my partner came back from abroad he’s been waking me with a cup of decaf coffee in the morning. Sweet as it is, it hasn’t been doing my face any good. I’ve been having minor flare-ups in the morning which have confounded my vitamin experiments.

Decaf coffee is supposed to be allowed on the elimination diet, but when I looked it up in the salicylate list, it turns out it’s in the “moderate” column. I reacted to mango, which means it’s not surprising I’ve reacted to decaf coffee.

Shop bought beef is something else I definitely react to. I’m fine with the organic beef we buy from our local farm, but I’ve no idea how long the shop bought stuff has been hanging around in a vacuum pack. I react with a bit of a flare up of the skin, accompanied by a very hungry sensation in my stomach.

Speaking of which, we also tried some celeriac this week. There’s no information on the amine/salicylate content of celeriac. It’s a member of the celery family, which is allowed. I thought it would be worth a try. I reacted with serious hunger pangs a couple of hours after eating it. I already knew this: every time I’ve had it in the past I’ve reacted with abnormal hunger for the amount of carbs involved, and blamed it on “something in the celeriac”.

I’d be willing to bet money that the “something” in celeriac, shop bought beef, and bananas (bananas also make me abnormally hungry), is serotonin or histamine.

Written by alienrobotgirl

17 April, 2006 at 11:48 am

Posted in Personal Diary

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I tried to respond to this earlier but my computer froze, so forgive me if this appears twice!I joined the “Failsafe” group on Yahoogroups a couple of weeks ago. So far, 99% of the emails have been about products from Australia that I can’t get or products, fruits or vegetables that are full of starch and sugar that I don’t eat. But one email was about decaf coffee. Apparently the coffee that was tested for salicylates/amines in the Food Intolerance Networks database was chemically decaffeinated, not Swiss water decaf. Apparently the better quality stuff (the stuff I’ve been drinking) proably contains more reactive compounds, which does explain a lot. It’s probably best to stay away from it completely.

    Mother Nuture

    17 April, 2006 at 6:40 pm


Leave a Reply

