Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Chocolate

leave a comment »

It’s very strange: I am able to tolerate very small amounts of cheese and kefir, but I ate about an ounce of chocolate a couple of days ago, and was extremely angry the next day. Justifiably so – during bank holiday week a plethora of bad drivers erupt like a plague of snails onto the local roads (tourists think it is okay to drive at 35 miles per hour down straight country lanes where the regulars do 45-45 mph, then continue at this speed through villages marked 30 miles per hour, and should they so much as see a sheep on the grass in Chatsworth, their speed goes down to 10 miles per hour). But I mean really, really hassled and angry enough to curse.

At least I didn’t react to chocolate as badly as this poor woman:

Before going on the diet, I used to get panic attacks at night, where I would be absolutely convinced that there was a gunman just outside my window. When I finally did go on the diet, it was for the sake of my children, not myself, so I thought it was okay at week three to eat an enormous amount of chocolate – I believe it was one Hershey bar, and a massive Cadbury dairy milk block. The next day, I was so paranoid that I convinced myself that my husband was having an affair, and went to the extent of driving to his work to watch him through the window, then following him home on his bike. When he arrived home, I dashed outside and hid in the darkened garden, crying. After about four hours the paranoia episode just finished like that, and I had to explain myself to a perplexed husband – reader, NSW. Failsafe Newsletter 48

Sometimes I think I’m quite lucky.

Written by alienrobotgirl

31 May, 2006 at 11:11 am

Leave a Reply

