Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

A sad day for science?

with 6 comments

This morning I received an email from The Omnivore saying he’s shutting down his site for good, basically because he’s sick of giving stuff away free to people, posting free advice and receiving abuse from ignorant idiots, demands from people too lazy to do their own work, and a general lack of thanks. He’s also pretty unhappy about the weak sales of his new book, The Great Cholesterol Con to newsletter subscribers.

I’m currently reading his book, and it has to be the most important, ground-breaking review on cholesterol and fat to date.

This is a really sad day. There’s so much mumbo-jumbo about cholesterol in the media that gets regurgitated, I imagine all of those occasions where someone could be referred to Colpo’s site for accurate information, and now that information isn’t available. Not everyone is as intelligent and inquiring as Colpo, and most people can’t spare the time to write an essay on a subject for someone they don’t know. The removal of Colpo’s information means the battle on the ground is being lost. Do we now have to wait another fifty years for the scientific community to cotton-on that their main paradigm is so wrong?

Don’t get me wrong–the site was never intended as a money-making venture, and at no time during the 3 years I ran the site did I ever ask anyone for a single cent. I simply hoped to make some sort of contribution to public health and knowledge by posting information for people to consider and research further. However, instead of becoming a repository of info for self-reliant free-thinkers, my web site seems to have become a magnet for free-loaders who seem to be under the impression that I am obligated to furnish them with free diet and health info on tap.

To quote my boyfriend, who is not entirely happy about the time I spend on this blog, giving stuff away for free “is such a waste of human endeavour.” Meanwhile, we’re struggling with finances, and I simply have no idea how I’m going to make some cash, unless I sell out and give people what they want to buy… a diet book!

This has come at a time when I myself have been thinking a lot about taking down my onymous site in its current form, or at least the blog, and making it pretty impossible for people to contact me or leave feedback. Getting abuse from people – no matter how utterly brainless they are – is still an unpleasant, frustrating experience, and I can relate to Colpo’s reasons entirely. Only a few days ago I had another nasty email – from a silly little girl who found my fairy name generator who ludicrously thinks “fairies are real”, and I am “lying to people” about having “met” them, and this makes me a really evil person… Yes, there really are people this stupid in the world, and if you didn’t laugh, you’d cry. More hurtful than random abuse from strangers, is some of the bizarre feedback from friends who always think you are speaking directly to them, on their particular issues, and haven’t a clue about the other dozen people you are writing for. I’ve discovered that publicly stating my diet and my opinions on my ill health on my website results in friends finding excuses to fall out with me. And it hurts, a lot.

Working against mainstream health dogma on cholesterol has the perverse effect of wreaking your health. I can’t count the number of times I’ve been stressed and upset by the way medical authorities treat people, including close relatives, or I have been disturbed and worried by the atrocious ways in which people feed themselves and their children. Having the knowledge to make things better, but being forced by convention to keep schtum about it in case they start to think you are crazy or you offend their sensibilities/morality/religion/pseudo-religion – is one of the unhappiest feelings I’ve ever had.

The final trigger was the truly idiotic emails I received soon after publishing The Great Cholesterol Con. Right after I released the book, I received an abusive email from some wacko in Panama, who was most upset that the book wasn’t available in e-book form and that he would have to pay international shipping charges if he wished to purchase the hard copy version. Well boo-hoo, I’ve been living down under in Australia and paying international shipping charges all my life!

I’m amazed by the number of whiny people on messageboards who spend hours complaining about their health but are too tight to pay international shipping charges for a book that might change their life, or, when told that diet is an effective cure, continue to refuse to change their diet because they are too lazy. I’m also amazed by the number of people who spend huge quantities of money on snake oil just for the off-chance of a cure. People are very weird and hypocritical when it comes to their health.

I guess it’s way too much to expect the apathetic, lazy, unthinking sheep that constitute the majority of today’s population to actually use the search function on my site, or to plunk down a piddly 20-25 bucks for my book…nope, on top of the abundant info I’ve already given, I apparently still must provide them with their very own personalized answer!

If people want to act like a bunch of whining, unappreciative, free-loading shmucks, that’s their prerogative, but I refuse to be an accomplice to such idiocy any longer. That is a major reason why I have torn down the bulk of my site and why I will not be answering any more health/diet questions. Virtually everything I have to say about the saturated fat/cholesterol/CHD issue can be found in my book. Whether people choose to buy and read it or not is beyond my control, but it’s all in there…

Boy, and I thought I was a hothead. I think Anthony needs to calm down a bit or he’ll do himself some damage.

My degree is in social science. My degree was a wonderful process of discovery and learning and I thought I could right all the wrongs of the world. Politics has a lot to answer for. When I began to realise how resistant people are to complex scientific explanations of problems in society, and instead prefer to scapegoat and hate each other instead of sitting down and doing some constructive planning, I started to become very cynical about human nature. It made me very stressed and depressed to see the world in such a state when the knowledge was available to make it better – it just wasn’t what the common voter or the common politician wanted… The result is apathy, and a “let them stew in their own problems then” kind of attitude. Yes, people are lazy, whiny, selfish, and ignorant. But not all of us, and it isn’t always our fault.

There’s a point at which you can become so cynical about human nature that you either become a dictator or a hermit. I really don’t want to get to that point. That’s the point at which you start writing popularist diet books and suckering people out of their cash!

To quote L. Ron Hubbard, founder of Scientology, “I’d like to start a religion. That’s where the money is.”

Written by alienrobotgirl

28 June, 2006 at 9:21 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been reading this blog for a few weeks now – it makes very interesting reading!Please don’t take the ill-informed criticism to heart. If you’re saying something worthwhile, then there’ll always be people who vehemently disagree with you.Cheers,PeteP.S. I was most disappointed that I haven’t been mentioned once on this blog, not even cryptically. (Unless I’ve just missed that particular reference.) 🙂

    Pete

    29 June, 2006 at 12:09 pm

  2. Hi Pete – thanks for the support. Had no idea you were actually reading this drivel! No – I wasn’t referring to you, hope I didn’t make you paranoid! Think I might have cryptically mentioned Kim once, but I’ll let you find that for yourself… 😀

    Alien Robot Girl

    29 June, 2006 at 3:39 pm

  3. Wow! Jimmy Moore linked to my site on his blog! *starstruck*!I have an obscure sense of humour sometimes, so I hope everyone who came over here (including Jimmy and maybe even Anthony!) got the gist of the humorous comments I made about diet books…Basically that 90% of the diet books on the market are potboilers written by people who are out to exploit you, so why the hell shouldn’t genuine researchers do the same, quite cynically, to make some cash?If Anthony reads this I hope he realises he’s my biggest hero…

    Alien Robot Girl

    30 June, 2006 at 10:19 am

  4. This was a great post. I just discovered your blog. I am thinking back as to just how I got here – I got here via Jimmy’s Livin’ La Vida Low-Carb blog, but I can’t remember how I got to Jimmy’s site – LOL.Anyway, this was well said and I just bought (well it’s in my cart I have to check out in a few minutes – which I promise I will!) Anthony’s Cholestrol Con book and can’t wait to read it. Don’t let the turkeys get you down!

    Paul

    2 July, 2006 at 3:30 pm

  5. Thanks for your kind comments Paul! The Great Cholesterol Con is definitely worth reading – seeing the huge list of all of those dietary saturated fat studies that failed to produce statistical significance was the biggest laugh I had for a week! (does that make me sound really sad and geeky?)

    Alien Robot Girl

    4 July, 2006 at 9:35 am


Leave a Reply

