Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Doctor AlienRobotGirl

leave a comment »

I keep having this strange, irrational urge to get a medical degree. In fact I’m just about to buy some hefty medical books on biochemistry, physiology, pathology, anatomy, endocrinology, and even the dreaded pharmacology. I know so much about these subjects already through autodidactism, that I really ought to do the job properly and fill in the gaps. I just want to help people.

Am I insane? I must be. I just can’t get rid of this feeling, it’s been nagging at me. I’ve even had dreams about it (though the dream actually included Jennifer Aniston, Tom Cruise, Katie Holmes and Kylie, for some reason). It’s stupid really, because I know that should I do it, it will take six or seven years of my life, and my various unorthodox opinions on matters such as 1. the correct treatment for diabetes, 2. the cholesterol con, 3. the importance of nutrition, 4. fibromyalgia and CFS, will immediately result in sidelining and ridicule. I will hate the entire thing from start to finish. I repeat: am I insane?

Dr. Bernstein, the oldest living T1 diabetic in the world became a doctor in order to turn the medical establishment around. His story is amazing.

After a year of premed courses and another year of waiting, I entered the Albert Einstein College of Medicine in 1979. I was forty-five years old. During my first year of medical school I wrote my first book, Diabetes: The Glucograf Method for Normalizing Blood Sugar, enumerating the full details of my treatment for type 1, or insulin-dependent, diabetes.

In 1983 I finally opened my own medical practice near my home in Mamaroneck, New York. By that time, I had well outlived the life expectancy of an “ordinary” type 1 diabetic. Now, by sharing my simple observations, I was convinced I was in a position to help both type 1 and type 2 diabetics who still had the best years of their lives ahead of them. I could help others take control of their diabetes as I had mine, and live long, healthy, fruitful lives.

I must be totally and utterly insane.

Written by alienrobotgirl

10 July, 2006 at 5:06 pm

Posted in Personal Diary

Leave a Reply

