Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Family ties

leave a comment »

I suspect this is a largely inherited disorder. I have asthma, eczema, and rashy allergies on my paternal side and cross-bolshy-woman syndrome on my maternal side. I don’t think my mum will mind me saying that, she has a sense of humour about it! “I’m my mother’s daughter,” she has allegedly said to my dad.

Just days after I wrote about how I have curry hangovers, my little sister, who does not read this blog, came around for a visit and described how she’d eaten a curry the night before and she felt horrendous, and that it seemed to happen whenever she ate curries. I already knew this, because I’ve seen her before when she’s eaten curries and they make her very irritable. In fact, the last time I saw her she’d had a curry, was irritable, and I gave her some kombucha and lo and behold, she suddenly became sweetness and light five minutes after drinking it.

Then she recounted to me how she’d stopped drinking diet (aspartame) soft drinks a few weeks ago, and suddenly her skin had cleared up and she’d lost six pounds without actually dieting.

So I sent her away with a printout of the elimination diet. A couple of days later I went to see her and she was in the worst state I’ve ever seen a human being. She described to me how she’d had a couple of lagers the night before, but now couldn’t stop throwing up, and that just lately she seemed to be “completely alcohol intolerant.” I explained about sulphites, alcohol and histamine, and how I react in exactly the same way as this, and that next time she should stick to vodka and gin!

Then she told me about a friend, an otherwise fit, healthy young man, to whom the exact same thing had happened. All of a sudden he couldn’t tolerate any alcohol anymore. Every time he tried to drink he had the same violent reaction. Interestingly, he also suffers from restless legs syndrome, a condition repeatedly connected to food chemicals:

Restless Legs Syndrome was absolutely driving me crazy. If I forced my legs to be still, they would then jerk with even greater intensity. While I was watching TV, my legs were constantly swinging, because of this urge to move them. They were not itchy – it was just like there was something under the skin driving me crazy. Apparently most sufferers go on to become alcoholics (ref: The Bulletin 2000) which I can understand. American websites about RLS basically fall back onto all sorts of medication, which I do not want to take. Within two weeks of trying the elimination diet, I was able to sit still at night, AND get into bed without fear of tossing and turning all night because of this urge to move my legs. I now know the foods I should not touch – salicylates and additives … when I eat any of these forbidden foods there is a definite reaction. Failsafe Stories

The amount of people I know who definitely are or may be affected by food chemicals is ridiculously high. Yet hardly any of them will ever find out or at least have the chance to test the actual cause of their problems.

Written by alienrobotgirl

10 July, 2006 at 1:13 pm

Leave a Reply

