Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Food for thought?

with 2 comments

This post is for a couple of friends of mine who are big fish eaters.

Mercury released by coal-fired power plants contaminates waterways and accumulates in fish. Many thousands of the pregnant women in America who eat fish consume enough mercury to potentially harm their children’s neurological development. Some states warn that children should not eat more than a can of tuna per week; based on EPA guidelines, a twenty-pound child may exceed a level considered safe for the most sensitive populations with just 1.3 ounces.

Lakes fish contaminated with PCBs showed lowered IQs and shortened attention spans. And these effects on intelligence and behavior have been shown to persist throughout childhood. A Dutch study confirmed that increased maternal levels of PCBs can impair cognition in infants. Young monkeys exposed to PCBs at low levels show learning disabilities and hyperactivity. ADHD leaflet from childenvironment.org

If you are a pescatarian or a regular fish eater (i.e. you eat fish more than once a week), I advise you to visit gotmercury.org immediately and calculate your mercury exposure, because you’ll probably never eat tuna or other oily fish again.

I’ve calculated mine. One 6 oz serving of cod (comparatively low in mercury), gives me around 40% of the maximum weekly exposure of mercury. One 6 oz serving of tuna gives me between 140% and 270% of my maximum weekly exposure.

Eat fish every day? You’re in deep trouble.

Written by alienrobotgirl

23 August, 2006 at 3:15 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The girlfriend one of my collegues at work has chronic fatigue syndrome. I know that they eat alot of vegetables/fruits. Do you know if there is any connection between CFS and salicylates?Raw Paleo John.

    Anonymous

    30 August, 2006 at 9:41 am

  2. Hi Raw Paleo John,I have suffered from CFS/fibromyalgia (they are really the same thing) since the age of about thirteen. Since going on failsafe I’ve stopped getting any of my fibromyalgia and fatigue symptoms – and when my diet slips, I have classic fibromyalgia/fatigue reactions. For example, I get sensitive patches of skin, and my sensitive touch points come back, and I become exhausted. I’ve written about fibro in one or two posts before. I’ve yet to put together a fully-formed essay on the subject, but I believe firmly that fibromyalgia and CFS are closely connected to food chemial intolerance. Your friends need to go carnivorous!

    Alien Robot Girl

    30 August, 2006 at 2:27 pm


Leave a Reply

