Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Honourable mentions

leave a comment »

Rob from Zero Carb Daily gave me a link to my article on why meat prevents scurvy! Thanks Rob! “I don’t eat any veggies primarily because they taste like absolute crap,” he says. It sounds like Rob is a supertaster. I understand Rob, as only other supertasters can understand! Around 25% of people can taste a chemical that acts as a goiterogen that is in many vegetables. This is an evolutionary mechanism to prevent us from getting goiter. I tried for years to make myself like fruit and vegetables, but all of those salads and greens I started eating when I went on Atkins just left me feeling like I was chewing on animal fodder. I now contend that salads are completely pointless.

Raw Paleo John has left a few comments on my blog too:

It is really fascinating that there is a connection between skin condition and salicylates. I remember a period, maybe a year or two ago, when I was eating a paleo diet (including cream) with no coffee, and still had small pimples on my forehead and sometimes around my nose. I thought I was following a perfect diet, being such a good paleo-man and eating 200-400 grams of berries each day for my anti-oxidants… Strawberries, raspberries, currants, lignonberries, cherries etc. I must say it was completely confusing to have pimples while following a perfect diet. Interestingly, I had a period before this, with the same diet (also no coffee) with one exception: I was eating tomatoes instead of berries. The result: No pimples. Tomatoes are low in salicylates, and berries are high in them. I believe salicylates might be the explanation for the pimples…

I’ve been there John! I tried Palaeo, swapping cheese for nuts and berries, and because I’m such a strong salicylate responder my dermatitis got worse and my face was very flushed. I was also starving because I couldn’t figure out where to get enough fat from!

Written by alienrobotgirl

19 September, 2006 at 10:30 am

Posted in Personal Diary

Leave a Reply

