Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Disappearing act

with 9 comments

Sorry for disappearing last week and not publishing or replying to comments, or answering emails or messages on messageboards. I’m almost up to date again now, but if I haven’t replied to a question yet, rest assured I will do soon! I wasn’t ignoring you.

I need a bit of space/time to work on some programming stuff. I’m putting together a new information website that will hopefully clear up a few questions people have had. At the moment I’m going over old ground a lot as blogs aren’t easy things to navigate around. I want to get things like food chemical intolerance symptoms and connected disorders laid out clearly and fully referenced, also, I want to get some information about liver detoxification together, as there’s no one page on the net that is telling the full, true story at the moment.

Also, I’ve been having another coffee reaction. It crept up on me. I’ve started fat fasting again and coffee really helps me get through the first few days. I also wanted to find out how long I could last without experiencing total reaction symptoms, since I always give it up before I completely crash. The answer is about five days – one measure of espresso machine coffee per day. I started this regime on Monday, and by Friday I had brain fog. I tried to wean myself off the stuff over the weekend, drinking smaller/weaker amounts – I felt dreadful, and I still feel awful today. My skin has gone from completely clear back to having a nice ugly patch of dermatitis next to my nose and another on my chin. This is in spite of using clindamycin phosphate every day. When I am not reacting, I do not need clindamycin phosphate to keep my skin clear. When I am reacting, it helps keep the problem under control. Also, I’ve been experiencing some facial flushing (what I’ve come to consider proto-rosacea) again.

Because coffee contains both salicylates and caffeine, I think I’m going to perform a fruit/vegetable experiment sometime soon. I know my dermatitis/proto-rosacea is caused by salicylates, not just caffeine, but I want to “prove” it to other people. Raw Paleo John’s comments have inspired me. There’s nothing better than visual evidence! I’ll perform the experiment very properly, record everything I eat, and take photos of my face every day.

It’s just amazing to be reminded of how fragile my health really is. I’ve felt great on failsafe for months. I went from being clear-headed and clear-thinking on Monday, through to making mistakes, misspellings, writing bad SQL, stumbling on my words, brain not getting into gear, getting stuck halfway through sentences, brain fog, malaise, fatigue, aches and pains, paranoia, and avoidance. I honestly can’t face replying to comments and emails when I’m in condition (it’s no wonder I never kept in touch with my friends). Emotional/social brainwork is hard work, and it’s the first thing to go when reactions start to affect the mind. This is autism!

Written by alienrobotgirl

16 October, 2006 at 9:44 am

Posted in Personal Diary

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good to see you back. Looking forward to the new website.

    Chris

    16 October, 2006 at 7:32 pm

  2. Hello, I am Celine and I found your site through the Homo Optimus forum.You have a wonderful wealth of information here. I’ve read some past posts and am digesting the information slowly.I wish to say thank you for speaking the truth publicly in spite of naysayers. I have suffered from many of the symptoms you write and finally have hope to be relieved of some.I was born in France but was raised in in Canada and live now in the U.S. It is unfortunate my family did not remain to the French way of life/cuisine when we moved- perhaps, we might have avoided illness.I am currently trying the Homo Optimus ratios using mainly butter and eggs. Cheese seems to give a bad reaction, although cream is good (when I can find a quality brand). I am still hesitant to re-include good breads, but I want to finally eliminate fruits and vegetables as I now understand their unsuitability for healing illness (I suffer from IBS-A).Sorry if this was long.I thank you once more. Your writing and dedication is very much appreciated.

    Anonymous

    17 October, 2006 at 5:09 pm

  3. I strongly recommend watching “The Secret” and applying the principles described in the film. It surely reminded me of something very important.For some information on this movie, see: http://www.stevepavlina.com/blog/2006/05/the-secret/Focus on what you want and desire, and minimally and ever less on the negative things and how things are now. Do that and the unconscious does the rest. Think of fantastic health for the rest of your life and suddenly your unconscious gives you good ideas like quitting vegetables and instead eating raw meat.I am looking forward to your new website and to the results of your experiment.A small update from my side of the world: I did not quit coffee. I had liver paté made of fresh lamb liver and many egg yolks a day (between 5 and 17) and my skin has cleared up remarkably. In order to do a proper experiment it is important to keep the diet exactly the same in the two cases, with the exception of the amount of salicylates. Eating alot of liver and egg yolks might make it difficult to get bad skin, even when eating salicylates.-Raw Paleo John

    Anonymous

    19 October, 2006 at 6:18 am

  4. Hi Celine,Welcome! If you react to cheese and have IBS it sounds like you could be a candidate for trying failsafe. Whether removing dairy and grains would help I don’t know, but try failsafe first and if there’s no improvement try excluding dairy and grains as well. Eggs are a very good food to base your diet on. Good luck with your IBS and keep in touch!

    Alien Robot Girl

    19 October, 2006 at 10:07 am

  5. Hi Raw Paleo John,Sounds like you have had more success with nutrients than I had, but these foods do contain the skin vitamins, particularly A and B, and also methylation cycle nutrients (choline, B12, folate) and did these reduce (but not eliminate) my symptoms somewhat, so it is quite natural that they should help. Unfortunately as I am quite sensitive to amines, liver is a problem as it degrades very rapidly.

    Alien Robot Girl

    19 October, 2006 at 10:15 am

  6. I just wanted to say that I really enjoy your blog and I’ll be adding a link to yours from mine. I’m a SQL programmer (more like duct-tape and caffeine quasi-hack LOL, using ColdFusion) and I’ve only recently realized how long brain-fog from food’s been really complicating my off-time personal work on DBs/webs. I think your photo/food layman’s research and documentation is a great idea!

    Anonymous

    20 October, 2006 at 11:30 pm

  7. Hi PJ, thanks! I’ve added you to my links! I think people who do programming and similar jobs that require heavy concentration really do get slowed down by the old brain fog!

    Alien Robot Girl

    21 October, 2006 at 5:42 pm

  8. Do you have any information regarding the amount of amines in liver over time (as the liver degrades)? What nutrients, if any, contribute to “detoxification” of amines?Regarding my skin clearing up I must admit that the amount of liver paté I ate was substantial. I believe I ate a total of 2 kgs of liver (in the form of liver paté) in about two weeks. I balanced the large amount of vitamin A with vitamin D rich pork fat and cod liver oil (Dr. Rons high vitamin).-Raw Paleo John

    Anonymous

    22 October, 2006 at 5:25 pm

  9. Hi RPJ, afraid I don’t have any tables on amine formation over time in liver, as they are so variable.Nutrients that contribute to detox amines are cofactors for MAO:- copper- iron- riboflavin- B6More broadly, phase II detoxification of amines is influenced by the supply of:- glucuronic acid- sulphate- methyl donors- acetic acidVitamin D and the essential sugars both influence vulnerability to secondary infections.Vitamin A influences the speed of skin cell replacement, so replaces your skin faster than it can be attacked by pathogens.P.S. Could you contact me with an email address? Someone has contacted me and would like to get in touch with you to discuss experiments with skin problems!

    Alien Robot Girl

    22 October, 2006 at 6:33 pm


Leave a Reply

