Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

The funniest thing I read this month

with 7 comments

Time for another incestuous post-modern blog about the blogosphere. This one’s about the carnivores.

Jimmy Moore recently tried to interview Owsley “Bear” Stanley for his new radio show. “The Bear” as he is known is the inspiration behind the totally carnivorous diet that has been gaining momentum in the low-carb world of late. He’s a colourful character who was an underground LSD chemist and a sound engineer for The Grateful Dead. The Bear appeared on the Active Low-Carber’s forum back in February of this year and announced himself as someone who, like Vilhjalmur Stefansson, has lived on nothing but meat, eggs and cheese for most of his life and has come to no ill from it, indeed he feels just fine and hasn’t aged like other people.

I have been eating the natural human dietary regime for over 47 years now. I do not eat anything whatsoever from vegetable sources. The only things veggie I use are spices. My diet is usually 60% fat and 40% protein by calories. I used to eat 80/20 when younger and about twice as much quantity of meat also, but that seems too much energy at my age, which is 71- even though I am very active. I think the body actually becomes more efficient with energy as you age, but I have no way of proving it true. Otherwise, my body today is very like it was at the age of 30. I figure most of what we call ‘aging’ is due to insulin damage to the collagen and other body structures. No carbs = no insulin. I don’t heal quite as fast when injured as I did as a youngster, however. But I have few wrinkles, and my skin is still strong and elastic.

This caused a storm on the forum, with some low-carbers in favour, and others asserting the opinion “ZOMG! How can you not eat vegetables, they’re good for you!!!111!!!” The thread ended up being relegated to The War Zone.

In response the growing number of carnivores set up their own forum, the Active No-Carber’s forum, where they reprinted The Bear’s posts.

Rob is one of the big voices in the world of No-Carb. He’s a frequent poster on Jimmy’s blog. Jimmy is unimpressed by the idea of No-Carb. Rob and Jimmy are always disagreeing with each other.

Jimmy’s failed interview with The Bear is the funniest thing I’ve read all month. Said The Bear to Jimmy Moore:

I have found that people are so socialized to eat vegetable rubbish that the number of people who can actually permanently get onto the carnivorous path is maybe one in fifty thousand or less.

Our bodies are those of carnivores. Carbs are damaging to us, both in making us fat and in causing insulin release. Our minds and the acculturation which we receive from birth overrides instinct and provide the only reason we eat anything. If you are unfortunate like virtually everyone in today’s society and receive early training to eat primarily vegetation with high amounts of carbs and avoid fats, then you are unlikely to ever adapt to the proper human diet.

So, I have to tell you that I do not have the time to waste on a ‘blog’ on any subject, but particularly on one which in fact would only cater to food-obsessives who want a constant stream of ‘reasons’ to eat the right food and ‘proof’ it is good for them.

Trust me, I have eaten as a total carnivore for 48 years, I am nearly 72 and I still have much the same body as I did at 30. Experience is the ONLY proof. The rules of the path are so simple as to be a no-brainer.

I think Jimmy was a bit miffed. The Active No-Carbers were of the opinion that Jimmy caught The Bear on a good day. The thread spawned a discussion about obsession and everyone got a bit self-conscious about their attitude towards diet.

Rob took The Bear’s words to heart and decided to drop out of No-Carb blogging.

Me: I don’t think there’s anything wrong with food obsession. If no-one was food-obsessive, low-carbing wouldn’t even exist. If I wasn’t obsessive about food, I’d still be sick. If no-one was obsessive about anything, we’d all still be in the dark ages. And no I don’t think we used to live in a perfect paleolithic eden.

Come on, Rob! Don’t you have a mind of your own? Your blog has been an inspiration to a lot of people. I didn’t agree with half the things you said (especially omega 3s), but I think you’re an important voice in the world of low carb. It’s about time someone started bashing holes in the all-powerful dictatorship of vegetable eating.

Written by alienrobotgirl

26 October, 2006 at 9:03 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree, entirely. I love the fact that the Bear’s experience paved the way (partly) for others, but I wouldn’t exactly want to model myself after him, considering he’s just about the most ornery old bugger who ever existed.There’s nothing wrong with blogging – I don’t do it very often anymore, but that’s mostly out of laziness. And there is certainly nothing wrong with being obsessive (or passionate, as I like to call it) about your health or anything else, for that matter. That’s like accusing a musician of being a ‘music obsessive’ or an historian for being ‘obsessed with the past’. Embrace your beliefs, stand up for them and be willing to take a public stance on them. Don’t insist that what you say is correct then refuse to discuss it. Saying ‘it doesn’t need to be proven because it works for me and that’s all that matters’ isn’t really good enough and is the easy way out. Especially when you’re talking about something that could really change world health for the better.

    Mother Nuture

    26 October, 2006 at 1:37 pm

  2. Hi Annabelle! Good to hear from you. Hope you’re doing well!

    Alien Robot Girl

    26 October, 2006 at 2:54 pm

  3. I find it interesting that some people are obsessed about eating 4 meals a day, carbs, cakes, bread, fruits and vegetables. Is there any principal philosophical difference between being obsessed about something and being obsessed about not being obsessed about the same?I have now been 4 months without fruits or vegetables. No scurvy. Lots of energy and motivation. Fascinating stuff.-Raw Paleo John

    Anonymous

    27 October, 2006 at 7:57 am

  4. Thanks for the wordsAnd it’s been duly blogged ๐Ÿ™‚The Zero Carb Daily

    Rob

    27 October, 2006 at 4:32 pm

  5. Hi Rob! Great news! Really glad to hear you’re sticking around! I was worried without you the carnivores would fizzle out. They need you! I’m also glad you took the backhanded compliments well!I was so amused by your post:”I appreciate that, and you’re right. @#$%ing veggie eaters! God they suck-even the low carb ones. I think all the natural plant toxins build up in their brains and stupid switch gets turned on. That such crappy tasting food with little nutritional value can be as highly regarded and sancrosanct, even among low-carbers, just shows how messed up we are as an entire culture.”Heeheehee. That’s why you’re great to have around!

    Alien Robot Girl

    27 October, 2006 at 7:20 pm

  6. Everyone who believes in low-carb, be it zero-carb (if that’s actually possible), very low carb, whatever, should be embraced and supported. I don’t understand the hostility against “the Bear” and zero-carb eating. All of us low-carbers are swimming up stream anyway in the mainstream of “modern dietary wisdom,” so why are we so obsessed with mandating vegetables into our diets? Obsessive eating happens when you are sick. When I was young, healthy, could eat anything I wanted, I never obsessed about food. Then when I almost died, it finally dawned on me that my obesity and bad health did not drop down aimlessly from the sky and accidently find me, but was caused by what I was putting into my mouth. That started the journey of what foods made me feel good and what foods made me feel sick. Sure I obsess about food. I have to.I don’t think Rob should give up, but he should just give the nay-sayers the finger and carry on as he has been. Go Rob ๐Ÿ™‚

    Horfilmania

    28 October, 2006 at 2:50 am

  7. Awesome Post!Sums up the feelings of a lot of us!Dave

    Lowcarb_dave

    28 October, 2006 at 2:54 am


Leave a Reply

