Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Germanium

leave a comment »

Something I have noticed is that lentils seem to give me energy and clear my head. Wheat germ seems to do the same thing, as long as I don’t eat it too often. I don’t think this is because they are low GI carbs because oysters and mussels have the very same effect – but scallops don’t. I could also blame it on the folic acid lentils and wheat germ contain, or the betaine wheat germ contains, but one common factor amongst all of these foods is they are particularly high in trace minerals. Oysters are high in zinc and copper, and mussels are high in manganese. Yet supplements do not have this effect on me, in fact, I have very negative experiences with zinc.

One thing they are all purportedly high in (there are no proper tables), is germanium. According to mainstream medicine, it’s a supposedly useless and potentially dangerous mineral. According to a standard safetly data sheet, absolutely harmless. According to the world of alternative medicine, something of a godsend. The claims are that germanium sesquioxide is somehow involved in processing oxygen in the body and releasing energy, that it’s extremely good for asthma, and that it fights cancer. On the packet it says “do not take at night.” I had to buy it from the US, of course, because the UK government forced a voluntary withdrawal of germanium sesquioxide from the UK market a few years ago (something this government seems to be very good at, forcing ‘voluntary’ withdrawals).

Being a total skeptic, I would rather make my own mind up as to what germanium does than listen to anyone else. So in typical fashion, I blew my lentil trial by taking some germanium yesterday morning. I didn’t go to bed until 1am because I wasn’t tired, and I woke up at 5am and couldn’t get back to sleep. I will probably collapse this afternoon!

[Edit: a number of further trials proved to me that germanium is quite a strong stimulant and should be avoided unless you really need a kick up the butt!]

Written by alienrobotgirl

26 November, 2006 at 10:48 am

Posted in Don't Do This

Leave a Reply

