Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Not again

with 4 comments

I think the phrase is “how to kick someone in the teeth when they are down.”

Not only is my laptop proving impossible to fix without help, we just found out the planning application we put in to extend our house has been refused. The council notices weren’t updated – we were under the impression the meeting we were supposed to attend was tomorrow, but they moved it to yesterday without informing us (or the rest of the world), held the meeting, and refused the application in our absence. I only found out when I looked on the council website. Too bad they never updated the council website to reflect the change of date for when they were holding the meeting, eh?

I get the impression this is how a lot of political decisions are made: by forgetting to inform important people. I feel rather like Arthur Dent in The Hitchhiker’s Guide when he finds out his house is going to be bulldozed. “What do you mean you didn’t know about it? There’s been a notice at the Town Hall for three months!”

Did I mention I was having a bad year this year? Now we have to move house.

Written by alienrobotgirl

29 November, 2006 at 6:15 pm

Posted in Personal Diary

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ah, that’s horrible. Will you move into a new house in the same area, or are you going to leave that whole area completely? This seems unusually unfair.

    Mother Nuture

    30 November, 2006 at 3:33 pm

  2. We live in a very old-fashioned, traditional, elderly, stubborn, part of the countryside in a cottage with 3ft thick walls with a floor space of 50m2, so it was always a risky application and honestly could have gone either way. My other half works an hour’s drive away in Sheffield (remember The Full Monty? That’s Sheffield…) and I drive him in most days and work in his office. I think we will probably move into a bigger house in Sheffield. It would be really nice to have some spare bedrooms to put people, and have an office each, so maybe it’s for the best.

    Alien Robot Girl

    30 November, 2006 at 7:07 pm

  3. oops, I just left my comment at the wrong post. I meant to reply to this one.

    Kyra

    4 December, 2006 at 1:04 am

  4. Thanks Kyra. I appreciate the kind comments in any case!

    Alien Robot Girl

    4 December, 2006 at 3:40 pm


Leave a Reply

