Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Basmati rice

with 5 comments

Who knew basmati rice wasn’t allowed? I knew that wild and black rice contained something awful, since I learned long ago that wild and black rice keep me awake all night. When you rinse black rice the water turns purple. But I thought all brown and white rices were equal.

I was looking through my copy of the RPAH elimination diet booklet the other day in order to publish a more comprehensive version of the elimination diet online. Basmati rice, jasmine rice, and wild rice are not allowed because they contain salicylates.

No wonder I have been having “idiosyncratic” reactions to rice. I was curious as to why I got on better with wheat but not with rice. There’s the answer. I’ve been using basmati rice. I wonder how many other people have fallen foul of this little quirk? How many people thought the elimination diet wasn’t working?

If in doubt, use sushi rice!

Written by alienrobotgirl

4 December, 2006 at 7:38 pm

Posted in Failsafe Foods

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. woah, i’m using doves rice flour to make optimal diet bread, I hope that it’s okayI just started failsafe this week, I don’t suppose you could tell me other things like this to watch out for?At the moment i’m just following http://users.bigpond.net.au/allergydietitian/fi/diet.htmlThank you!! Keep up the good work.

    lauren

    4 December, 2006 at 9:28 pm

  2. Hi LaurenI will have a very detailed copy of the elimination diet posted on the web shortly. I’ll announce it here.

    Alien Robot Girl

    5 December, 2006 at 11:29 am

  3. Oh crap, I just ate basmati rice last night at a dinner party! Just my luck LOL.

    Mother Nuture

    5 December, 2006 at 2:16 pm

  4. I was surfing and found your info on Glycine. I have had a Metametrix Lab ION profile done and my Taurine Serine and Glycine levels are below low and I am B-6 deficient as evidenced by Xanthranate and Kynuranate acid which means I am not processing Tryptophan too well. This was done as I have had anxiety and insomnia for 6 years. After I started P5P and Glycine, I felt much worse so I stopped and restarted. One by one and I cant tell what is doing what. This ws since 12/8 and things still suck. I stop the Glycine for one day and I feel good the next only to feel extreme anxiety and crappy the next. I have stopped P5p altogether. Doc talks of detox reaction. Any input. I feel Like a lost soulJK

    bonzo

    8 January, 2007 at 9:14 pm

  5. Hi Bonzo. Any other symptoms? Do you suspect food chemical intolerances? Your symptoms, as well as being low on these particular nutrients could indicate it.If the supplements have been making you feel bad for a whole month, you definitely shouldn’t be taking them, you should have started feeling better by now. In my experience the only way to detox is to remove chemicals from the diet, rather than using sticking plaster supplements.

    Alien Robot Girl

    8 January, 2007 at 9:43 pm


Leave a Reply

