Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Plant Poisons and Rotten Stuff (the new website!)

with 4 comments

Carolyn has reminded me that I haven’t linked to Plant Poisons and Rotten Stuff yet. This is my new self-help website for failsafers or people who suspect they may have food chemical intolerances to salicylates, amines, additives, MSG, sulphites, etc. I’ll also be writing some stuff about oxalates and polyphenols when I get around to it.

As you can see it isn’t finished, and barely even started, and a bit of a mess. There are like 3 pages on it at the moment. But I have a detailed copy of the elimination diet up there, and the advantage over the other copies you’ll find online is that it contains the food trials, and also that it’s easily printable!

Written by alienrobotgirl

14 January, 2007 at 11:10 am

Posted in Personal Diary

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great start on the website!I especially like the elimination diet table with comprehensive comments and the salicylate in food table. I assume that the quantities listed are in mg/100g? Might be good to add a note about that somewhere (unless I missed it – which would not be too unusual).I’d suggest adding your “funny kind of diet” as a sample of how to achieve good nutrition on a FAILSAFE diet.Keep up the good work :)I like to check on your good info periodically because my wife seems to have many of the same problems that you have. Her grandparents on her father’s side were born in Scotland and her grandparents on her mother’s side were from Wales.My wife’s diet is very similar to the elimination diet, though she never heard of it until recently. However, she doesn’t like brussels sprouts and she does like spinach, broccoli, and carrots.(I haven’t figured this out yet)Belated happy birthday!Bryan – oz4caster (from NN)

    Anonymous

    15 January, 2007 at 11:52 pm

  2. Hi BryanThanks for the helpful comments! Really good idea about the “funny kind of diet”. I will definitely have to do that!

    Alien Robot Girl

    17 January, 2007 at 12:07 am

  3. I’m suprised there haven’t been more comments of appreciation for the amazing work you have put into your new web site: http://www.plantpoisonsandrottenstuff.infoI've been following the food allergy connection to poor health on and off for 6 years now. There are alot of websites out there on specific food chemicals like amines, sulfites, salicylates and lists on foods to eat and avoid. However, for the lay person, these sites do not provide the bigger picture, the how, why, what if, how long etc. For me personally, when I first discovered Feingold and failsafe ages ago, I could see the possibility that food chemicals were causing my chronic fatigue syndrome and bladder issues, but did not notice any major improvements when I followed “my version” of the elimination diet. Little did I know I was sensitive to even tiny amounts of amines, salicylates, sulfites, phenols, and most supplements. I have this blog to thank for that discovery (which I found in mid 2006, been following a failsafe diet and trialing low or no carb diets ever since) I have to say, your sites bring together the best of the best information available on food chemical intolerance in a clear, easy to follow manner. I’ve given printed copies of your detailed failsafe food chart to many people whom I’ve previously tried to help with ‘mystery illnesses’. & this time they seem more confident in following the diet. And its great to finally have accurate data on the salicylate content of food available on the wwwPlease keep up the great work of sharing your discoveries with the world wide webA fellow food conscious (obsesses?) observerAndyJ (From Australia)

    Anonymous

    8 February, 2007 at 4:07 am

  4. Thank you so much for your lovely comments Andy. It’s comments like this, and knowing I can actually make a difference for a few people that make the effort worthwhile!

    Alien Robot Girl

    8 February, 2007 at 11:35 am


Leave a Reply

