Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

The Weston A. Price Foundation is full of zealots

with 4 comments

I’m making a few changes to the way I spend my time. I am no longer reading a lot of groups, I’m now limiting myself to FailsafeNT. Nothing else. I’m cutting right down on posts, hoping other people will answer questions, and trying to get on with writing some informative articles for Plant Poisons & Rotten Stuff The Website

I’ve stopped reading native-nutrition. I’ve had enough of the pathetic discussions going on over there at the moment – from a vocal minority asserting that homosexuality is a nutrient deficiency disease. I have a degree in social science, so perhaps it is easier for me to tell the difference between the simple thoughts and emotions that people experience which are influenced by food or genetics, and the complex ones that are influenced by social constructs. It’s very easy to be blinkered when you don’t have the full picture and you’ve been raised with a certain attitude.

My favourite quote from the whole, sorry debate:

“I’d also suggest that when someone seems very concerned about adducing scientific evidence that some group of people is deficient in some way, that there is some prejudice behind it.” native-nutrition

I could draw an analogy here, because I was faced with the same prejudices when I tried to explain to the native-nutrition board that food chemical intolerance is NOT a nutritional deficiency disease. Not everything can be or should be “cured” by taking vitamins.

Written by alienrobotgirl

20 February, 2007 at 12:03 pm

Posted in Quacktitioners

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hope you had a good rest. I know of all the work you do for us, your website proves to be most useful, especially for us who ask the same questions over and over again, i’m really looking forward to updates. :)Elena x

    Elena

    20 February, 2007 at 2:09 pm

  2. Thanks Elena, I hope you’re doing okay at the moment.

    Alien Robot Girl

    20 February, 2007 at 2:41 pm

  3. That pissing contest going on at NN is quite frustrating. And worse, people are getting caught up in small arguments about semantics. Funny how so many of the arguments on NN end up being about semantics!

    Mother Nuture

    20 February, 2007 at 11:12 pm

  4. I am so glad you will be able to devote more time to the website. That will be such a great help to so many of us. When people are ready to listen it will all be there. And you may have saved yourself some aggravation in the bargain!Ellen

    Ellen

    21 February, 2007 at 10:59 pm


Leave a Reply

