Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Really, really fresh meat

with 5 comments

On the subject of really, really fresh meat, I recently figured out that the age of the meat from my local farm shop is quite variable. I had a good patch in the autumn that I couldn’t attribute to anything, but I remember thinking at the time that the meat I was eating was really tasteless, i.e. fresh. I remember the next time I went to the farm shop for another batch of meat, it was “tastier”, and I didn’t feel as great, but since this is the best I can do for meat, I simply accepted it.

I’ve been avoiding buying things like mince because I’m pretty scared of getting sulphited, and well, with all of that open surface, it looks like it should have formed plenty of amines. But the farm shop I use has a good reputation, and I realised that they don’t use sulphites. It turns out that their mince is loads fresher than their meat! I bought some a couple of weeks ago and realised it was much more tasteless than the steaks, and that I didn’t react to it at all. I think perhaps they must part-butcher their meat into smaller chunks before they hang it, and the mince must largely be the leftovers of that process. This is great!

A couple of months ago I had got to thinking that I simply wouldn’t be able to lose any of the random weight I gain when I react without some sort of chemical help – like the old “mito cocktail” which includes carnitine, coenzyme Q10, alpha-lipoic acid, and a few others. I felt so awful on it that I gave up altogether, since my motivation for going on a diet remains at about zero for most of the time. I enjoy food too much, and I look pretty good, and I really couldn’t care less.

But I’ve cut out anything and everything I find remotely reactive from my diet: no more fruit or veg, no more lentils or beans, no more wheat, no more milk. It’s totally killed my appetite and cleared up my skin, which is currently perfect. I’ve been eating eggs, butter, double cream, this really, really fresh beef mince, and sushi rice. I’m on roughly Optimal Diet proportions: about 50 grams of protein and carbohydrate and 100 grams of fat, about 1,200-1,300 calories a day. I’m losing weight! I can’t believe I can eat so many carbohydrates and lose weight! I just hope it’s sustainable.

It just goes to show that other factors sometimes count more than calories.

Written by alienrobotgirl

23 February, 2007 at 12:19 pm

Posted in Failsafe Foods

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Those are the exact ratios and calories I’ve been keeping lately! Although the sour cream has been reactive to me, I think, which is why I haven’t been losing weight. Maybe the yogurt too, which I may have to take a break from and then trial later on.

    Mother Nuture

    23 February, 2007 at 1:43 pm

  2. I bet you having had an abdominoplasty a couple of weeks ago is going to have some crazy, inflammatory reactions on your body for a while. Hope you’re recovering well.

    Alien Robot Girl

    24 February, 2007 at 3:44 pm

  3. I know it sounds crazy but I get my fresh beef from… TESCO! haha. I can’t handle most of their fresh red meat (poultry seems okay) but I’ve never had a problem with their “organic frozen beef mince”. Actually i’ve never had a problem with their organic meat in general but frozen is safer. The reason is the organic has a high turnover because in general tesco has trouble meeting demand and it goes out of stock all the time. They never hang the organic meat either to meet demand, it’s tough and tasteless and blissfully unreactive. Just a tip in case you’re desperate!

    Elena

    24 February, 2007 at 4:28 pm

  4. Great tip Elena, I’ll bear it in mind and give it a try!

    Alien Robot Girl

    24 February, 2007 at 5:37 pm

  5. I’m sure my surgery has had a lot to do with how reactive I’ve been lately. All those painkillers and the general anaesthetic have probably exhausted my liver completely. I’m going to start taking some molybdenum today, I think.

    Mother Nuture

    24 February, 2007 at 7:26 pm


Leave a Reply

