Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

I'm not back yet (part one)

with 10 comments

A fellow blogger contacted me last week asking where I was… Which has reminded me that I actually have a blog and has given me enough of a kick up the ass that I’ve found time to update it.

Where have I been the last five months? Renovating a house. Nearly three years ago we bought a pretty little cottage in the peak district. We bought the cottage as a fixer-upper. It needed some serious fixing – more than we had originally budgeted for, including a new roof. We decided to put in for planning permission for an extension, which took months and months to go through the system. Eventually it was refused.

Because he doesn’t drive (epilepsy), I’ve spent the last couple of years driving my partner to Sheffield and working from his office. Until last year I was working for him doing programming and graphic design work, but I quit working for him so I could get back to writing – my ambition has always been to be a sci-fi/fantasy/horror novelist. But this all coincided with me going on the failsafe diet, and a downturn in my partner’s epilepsy, and a sequence of family crises including a hospitalisation and a bereavement. Also, I was still working in my partner’s office which is open plan. To be frank, you can’t write a novel in an open plan office surrounded by neurotypical people who think you are the office oddball. To quote Virginia Woolf, “a woman must have money and a room of her own if she is to write fiction”. Instead I spent most of last year trying to get my health back on track, investigating and attempting to fix my food chemical intolerance, and trying to communicate the concept of the failsafe diet to a rather reluctant and ostrich-like Weston A. Price Foundation.

Following the planning refusal, we decided we needed to move house to somewhere bigger, and closer to my partner’s work. That way there’d be no more hour-there, hour-back commute, and I’d be able to work from home and actually do something constructive. We knew that if we sold our house in its current condition we’d lose money, because a new roof doesn’t really add any value to the sale price. For some reason people want immaterial things like artex-free magnolia walls instead…

The whole thing crept up on me. One day I was sat there blogging, the next day the removal boxes arrived and I started packing. We have too many books. It took me a couple of weeks just to empty our two sheds of books in order to move our kitchen utensils in there (we also have too many kitchen utensils). Then I was launched into a kitchen refurbishment, followed by more packing and unpacking, followed by an entire replaster of the house, new doors, carpentry work, and the entire downstairs floor had to be tiled. After the work was done I had to decorate. My laptop even broke for a while because of all of the dust.

The decorating took weeks. I had to seal all the plaster, then it took another three coats of paint to cover (Dulux Once should be renamed Dulux Twice in my opinion). Painting ceilings is exhausting! The tasks and snags just go on and on. At one point I had a list of about thirty tasks I needed to do, all of which would take me about half a day each. You do one job and it usually makes a snag, you fix the snag and in the process make another snag.

In the middle of all of this we were trying to shop for and buy a house. We found a rather attractive four bedroom Edwardian property in Sheffield. So, more packing, moving, unpacking, chaos, blah, blah… Amusingly we forgot to take the washing machine with us. Then I was commuting back to the peak district to finish the decorating and dressing the cottage (and do the washing). I finally finished it last week and it’s on the market now. Today we received the ironic and unexpected news that the planning permission for the extension to the cottage had been granted on appeal. But it isn’t over yet, I’m currently in the middle of decorating what will be my new study in the new house. I can’t wait, it will be wonderful to have a room of one’s own.

When I have had a chance to sit down and relax during the last few months, all I’ve wanted to do is slob out in front of the television. I suppose I could have kept up the blogging if I really wanted to, but I needed a mental holiday. It’s how I work. I deal with one thing at the time. I let it consume me and obsess me, and then I move on to the next thing. I don’t multitask. I should have gotten around to posting a message on my blog saying where I was, but at least I managed to post something to the FailsafeNT group.

Written by alienrobotgirl

27 July, 2007 at 5:17 pm

Posted in Personal Diary

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice to see you back….well not back, but this was an interesting post.Hope things work out OK with the house sale

    Chris

    28 July, 2007 at 12:41 am

  2. It’s so nice to hear from you again! I know how all-consuming moving can be, nevermind renos. Looking forward to your return to internet land. :)Annabelle

    Mother Nuture

    28 July, 2007 at 12:59 am

  3. It’s so great to hear from you again!! I’ve been missing you. :o)Love the post! I’m trying to start spreading the word myself at some various forums that I’m on. Most people won’t even consider it. I know where they are, though, because I was there a few years ago. Sometimes it takes time and a process to realize how drastic some of us need to be with our diets. Steph

    Anonymous

    28 July, 2007 at 4:27 pm

  4. Yey, you’re all still out there! Glad to hear from you all!

    Alien Robot Girl

    28 July, 2007 at 8:17 pm

  5. Great post. I’ve been missing your agile mind. hope all is well…

    Rene Joshi Sims

    30 July, 2007 at 7:05 am

  6. Glad to read something from you. Thanks for coming on NN all that time ago and starting the big fight because it made a huge difference in my life.Umm, for the better.

    Teresa

    30 July, 2007 at 4:58 pm

  7. I’m glad to hear from you 🙂

    Anonymous

    5 August, 2007 at 5:29 pm

  8. Glad to see your back. I have been doing the elimination diet since a week before easter for my daughter whom I am breastfeeding. I wasn’t having the greatest luck with it and then I came across fructose malabsorption, took out the green beans and leeks etc and bang her anxiety was gone. How did you go with the paint fumes etc?cheers 🙂

    Sherrie

    13 August, 2007 at 10:48 am

  9. Hi SherrieI discovered paint fumes don’t bother me at all – only air fresheners and perfumes! I guess paint fumes aren’t particularly aromatic!

    Alien Robot Girl

    14 August, 2007 at 2:34 pm

  10. […] you really thought the only reason I disappeared from the internet for five months last year was to renovate a house, then you don’t read the FailsafeNT […]


Leave a Reply

