Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Inflammation and intermittent fasting

with one comment

Eades annoyed me a few months ago with an ill-educated “MSG is harmless” post. I still have his blog on my RSS feed though, and he has posted an interesting article on inflammation and intermittent fasting recently.

The long and the short of it is that intermittent fasting spontaneously reduced homocysteine levels and increased B12 and folate levels, despite the diet not containing any additional B12 or folate. Somehow it becomes more bioavailable. So theoretically intermittent fasting should be good for people with food chemical intolerance and autism spectrum syndromes.

This matches my experience. I always feel very good when I forget to eat or I am dieting. It might help explain the honeymoon period of good health I went through when I first did the Atkins diet.

Written by alienrobotgirl

17 August, 2007 at 6:24 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Intermittent Fasting has become quite “fashionable” in certain corners of the internet recently, although I think that there is fairly compelling science to support its benefits.I’d been experimenting for a few months just missing the odd breakfast or lunch, but I must admit that Eades pot on inflammation got me thinking a bit more on this and for the last three weeks I’ve been eating nothing until about 5pm and then having a meal or two in the evening.It is going fine. I think because Iam pretty low carb my blood sugar was pretty stable anyway, so I’ve adjusted well and feel great on it. I’ve lost a few pounds too.There is a lot of interesting research out there now on this – including the Ramadan study that Eades posted (I think I actually had written about that before him…whatever that means) There was another interesting study:http://conditioningresearch.blogspot.com/2007/07/more-on-intermittent-fasting.htmlI only got the abstract but it shows an improvement in body composition from this style of eating.

    Chris

    17 August, 2007 at 10:06 pm


Leave a Reply

