Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

What I eat these days

with 6 comments

Breakfast:

I’ve got out of the habit of eating breakfast. I used to eat boiled or scrambled eggs, but recently I haven’t had much of an appetite. Instead of having a tea or coffee, I drink a tablespoon of double cream in hot water. I’ll drink this throughout the day if ever I feel peckish.

Lunch:

Eggs in their many glorious forms!

Sometimes I make a homemade quiche with a fat-heavy Elizabeth David recipe. The pastry has more butter in it than flour, and the filling is five egg yolks, one whole egg, and a pint of double cream. Mmm. I put bacon and cheese on my partner’s half. I leave my half plain and it tastes like a custard tart, or I sprinkle some mild cheddar on top as I can tolerate a bit.

Sometimes I make very fat pancakes – two eggs, a couple of fluid ounces of double cream, a slightly heaped tablespoon of flour and a pinch of bicarb, fried in an ounce of butter. You can eat them with savory extras, or add sugar. Pancakes like this are fragile and don’t flip. You need to slide them onto a plate and turn them over by hand.

Or I’ll have a couple of eggs plain – boiled, poached or scrambled – sometimes with a slice of bread slathered in butter, sometimes with sushi rice (egg fried rice), sometimes I’ll have a bowl of porridge or wheatgerm, or rarely a small portion of well buttered pasta. I’m trying to get used to the taste of goat’s milk.

Sometimes we’ll roast a fresh chicken and eat half the chicken for lunch and the other half for tea.

I oscillate with carbs at lunch time. Sometimes they make me want to snack during the afternoon or they make me feel fat or sick (anything with white flour in it can make me feel sick). If I’m dieting I’ll just have eggs and a creamy drink with a spoon of sugar and that tides me through. I’m lucky: I could eat eggs forever and not get bored of them.

Tea:

Tea usually consists of one portion of meat and one portion of carbs.

I usually eat a 4 ounce portion of beef mince. Though mince is supposed to decay faster, I actually tolerate it better than beef steaks. I’m convinced the farm shop where I buy it mince offcuts of meat that haven’t been hung. Alternately, lamb chops or chicken. We split down whole chickens. We freeze meat in meal sized portions, then defrost in hot water ten minutes before we cook. I fry in a tablespoon of beef tallow. About once a week I’ll get some white fish and shellfish in. Clams, mussels, oysters, and squid are all really nutritious.

If I haven’t had a bowl of porridge or wheatgerm earlier in the day, I might eat one after eating some meat, or have some rice, pasta, bread, or potatoes. I have problems with jacket potatoes – they give me glutamatey symptoms, but I seem to be okay with fried potatoes. I prefer wheatgerm and milk because it’s more nutritious than the other options, though it’s easy to get addicted. The size of this portion is quite small – one ounce of oats or one and a half ounces of wheatgerm with a cup of milk, two ounces of rice, a couple of slices of bread, one hand-sized potato.

I tend to go on and off wheat/oats/milk – two weeks on and two weeks off is my usual pattern. When I diet instead of having carbs I’ll have mince with a couple more eggs. Mince and eggs scramble together really nicely, I don’t know why people don’t eat it! I try to diet a little bit for a week or two then stop dieting for a week or two. I’m anxious not to upset my metabolism too much. The weight seems to stay off better if I take it really easy and stop pressurising myself. Since I started doing this I’ve lost my need to snack all the time and I’m not bothered nearly as much by bread, glutamate and salicylate-related weight gain. I’m the lightest I’ve been since the Christmas before last.

I am currently trying to get used to goat’s milk (yeuch). It does seem to be less addictive/analgesic than Jersey milk. I’ll probably do an isolated trial some time and use it to make rice puddings or just drink a cup plain as my teatime carb portion.

A one or two times a week I might have a portion of mixed beans and pulses instead of the regular carbs. I boil up and cook several different types in separate pans as they all have different cooking times, then split them down and freeze them in different portions. I cook them straight from frozen. For some reason they taste better and are easier to digest after being frozen and cooked again. They’re great for soaking up vast quantities of butter. I can’t eat them every day or I get aminey/glutamatey symptoms like tinnitus.

A one or two times a week I’ll cut up a ripe conference pear and either cook it and eat it with cream, or eat it raw with some big dollops of Häagen-Dazs vanilla ice cream instead of the regular carbs. I can’t eat this every day or I’ll have salicylate symptoms and wake up groggy.

Sometimes at the weekend if my partner is eating lettuce or cabbage I’ll have some with him. When it’s Brussels sprout season in the autumn and winter I might eat those a couple of times a week. One of the biggest psychological barriers I’ve had to get over is not eating fruit and vegetables every day. I feel better without them. Sometimes when I pass the kitchen cupboard I’ll dip my finger in my tub of powdered ascorbic acid and that’s my RDA.

That’s it. It probably sounds like I don’t get a lot of variety, but I actually really enjoy having the choice taken away from me. I never really liked strongly flavoured foods, and I used to be very indecisive and anxious about what to cook all the time. A lot of tribes people live on equally limited diets – just whatever meat they kill and the same local carbohydrate source every day, whether it be potatoes, yams, gourds or whatever.

It probably also sounds like I don’t eat much. I actually average 1,800 calories a day, appropriate for my height and weight, and much less when I’m dieting. I’m actually shocked when I hear the vast quantities other people eat. I could never even imagine eating half a kilo of meat or four or five servings of grains in a day.

A lot of my calories come from butter and cream. I actually feel really good since I started drinking so much cream. My teeth feel smooth and clean all the time in spite of eating carbs and sugar, even when I wake up in the morning. It must be the vitamin K.

I’m not worried about my nutrition at all. I’ve had people from WAPF patronise me about what I eat, but I’m not actually low on anything and I achieve the RDAs of several vitamins that many other people are really deficient in, like vitamins D, E, K, B6 and folate. When I see the way other WAPF members eat, I know in spite of all the talk that they’re not getting those RDAs! My diet is probably more nutritionally balanced and nutritionally dense than ninety five percent of the population, and none of it’s from vitamin supplements or fortified foods.

Written by alienrobotgirl

30 August, 2007 at 8:41 pm

Posted in Failsafe Foods

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks! This is very useful :)I’ve been eating a lot of rice lately and i’m sure I have problems with too many grain chemicals, i’m definitely going to have to work on rotation.

    Elena

    31 August, 2007 at 9:57 am

  2. That was an interesting read. It is good to see how you put your stuff into practice.Thanks.Chris

    Chris

    1 September, 2007 at 9:11 am

  3. Your diet looks pretty healthy. It looks very similar to the “funny kind of diet” you once told us about on NN, with a little extra carbs here and there and some sea food. As you probably know, clams are quite high in iron, which is especially important for women of child bearing age and even more important if you are pregnant.By the way, I think I have some autistic tendencies too. I used to be very shy when I was young and used to avoid looking in people’s eyes, though I don’t have as much trouble with that now. I have always liked making lists and rankings as well – which I once read is also an autistic tendency. Hence, clams are number one for iron among meat sources :)How are you doing on your food nutrient data base? I have managed to update and improve my Excel “Dietary Nutrition Calculator” that can be downloaded from my blog (see my profile). Anyone with Excel can try it out. I would still like to add toxin and anti-nutrient data – one of these days.Bryan

    Bryan - oz4caster

    4 September, 2007 at 3:00 am

  4. Thanks Bryan! I’ve added a link to your blog!There are some excel sheets with antinutrient data in them in the FailsafeNT files section if you’re interested.Have you taken any aspie quiz tests? I’d be interested to know! I think a lot of internet/nutrition obsessives are at least a bit that way – let’s face it, it isn’t the kind of interest an average person would have!

    Alien Robot Girl

    7 September, 2007 at 8:01 pm

  5. Yey, that makes you more aspie than the average maths contest winner! 😀

    Alien Robot Girl

    8 September, 2007 at 9:42 pm

  6. I took the AQ Test and got a 25.

    Bryan - oz4caster

    8 September, 2007 at 8:55 pm


Leave a Reply

