Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

For the nth time, it's genetic

with 3 comments

Wow. Donna Williams’ family history sounds just like mine!

I was born into a very challenged and challenging household of unusual, eccentric, personalities. Various combinations of mood, anxiety, compulsive disorders, addiction, rage, dyslexia, ADHD, Asperger’s, autism, suicide, Crohn’s, Colitis, Coeliac, Diabetes, eczema, asthma, croup, hives and allergy rashes all run in various side of my family, going back generations on my father’s side.

[…]

Not all people with autism have my physical, sensory-perceptual, language processing, neurological integration or co-morbid mood, anxiety or compulsive disorders. Most of these issues run on one or both sides of my family. I feel that what I inherited was the combined impact of the challenges of both my parent’s sides of the family and that under certain environmental conditions, these things expressed themselves in early infancy, causing the developmental breakdown that presented as a ‘psychotic infant’, disturbed child, autistic adult. Autism; it ain’t all physical

I was going to say I can’t think of a case of suicide – but I can – my dad’s cousin was a millionaire who lived in a stately hall in Bakewell, and he killed himself.

No Crohn’s/colitis/coeliac as far as I know – just plenty of garden-variety IBS. Also some kidney stones and gallstones.

Like me, Williams seems to have inherited most of her autie personality from her father. My father is a boffin, crazy inventor, tinkerer, collector, and all-round know-it-all.

I even have something in my family history that Williams doesn’t – my maternal grandfather’s sister had intractable epilepsy and was locked up in a sanitarium until she died.

I would have loved to have met my great grandfather Beau Pré. He was an African missionary – a very angry man by most accounts – an alcoholic, who died in the African jungle of an asthma attack.

I am so repeating myself here. Do you think if I keep saying “IT’S GENETIC” some of the chelators and the gut bacteria folks and the vitamin deficiency zealots will eventually stop and listen?

Or am I talking to a brick wall here?

Written by alienrobotgirl

29 September, 2007 at 12:03 pm

Posted in Autism Genetics

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No! I totally agree!

    Casdok

    29 September, 2007 at 7:34 pm

  2. I agree that there is a genetic component, but I don’t think it is the whole story. Some people will be predisposed (perhaps genetically) to having problems with gut bacteria, vitamin deficiency, and toxin elimination (necessitating chelation). I’ve come across too many people who say “it’s genetic” like it’s an excuse… and refuse to take any responsibility for their (or their families’) well-being. I can see you’re not like that, but it does happen. Because there aren’t many “official cures” for genetic problems, a lot of people assume there’s nothing that can be done. Even something as simple as diet gets overlooked, even though it can have a HUGE impact.

    raw by default

    7 January, 2008 at 9:25 pm

  3. Hi Raw,I think if you take a longer look around my blog you will understand WHY I regard aspergers/autism/fibromyalgia/food chemical intolerance as genetic – it is based on the sheer quantity of abstracts and papers I have read on the subject.Genetics is not an excuse, it’s a fact that needs to be dealt with. The genetics involved in autism/aspergers make people extremely vulnerable to neurotransmitters and plant toxins that are found in food. Removing the bad foods (i.e. going on failsafe) makes a huge amount of difference – most people’s genetics can then scrape by. Of course some people’s genetics are so mangled that isn’t possible.Unfortunately these aren’t conditions that eating raw food will cure.

    Alien Robot Girl

    30 January, 2008 at 1:43 pm


Leave a Reply

