Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

A moment of smug boastfulness

with 2 comments

I’ve taken a few IQ tests recently. The highest came in at 145, the lowest 11 points below (to be fair, my attention-seeking puppy rather hindered me with that test). This means I have officially scraped the ‘genius’ category. Apparently this IQ is typical of top civil servants, professors, or research scientists. Which is kinda cool. This also means I’m even-stevens with my partner, but I’m still roughly 15 IQ points behind my Dad. Statistically, for every person as intelligent as my Dad in the world, there are at the very least 10,000 people who are less intelligent. He has savant spacial skills.

This is all very ironic because ever since I did sociology I haven’t really believed in IQ tests. When I was younger and a total leftie, I didn’t even believe in intelligence. Apart from problems with culturally specific questions, yada yada ya, if you change the weighting of questions that assess different skills between different tests, then of course you get different results. Different cultures place more emphasis on the value of different skills. I think it’s more helpful to assess different specific skills, like spacial rotation skills, pattern spotting, systemising, logic, etc, individually.

I’ve done quite a few psychometric tests recently. On left/right hemisphere tests I come out slap bang in the centre or marginally right-brained. My logic is impeccable. I’m also very good at pattern spotting. I’m pretty good at spacial visualisation for a girl. My weak spot really is maths. I don’t know why I am great at logic but bad at maths. Numbers just don’t add up automatically in my brain like they do in other people’s. I often end up adding up on my fingers or visualising dots in my head.

I think I’ve inherited the logic and spatial skills. They’re part of the aspie talent spectrum. Though bickering with my partner has definitely made me more logical! I’ve been working on some brain training during the last couple of years. Shortly after going on failsafe I got into sudoku, which has helped a bit with the maths. I also do lots of logic puzzles. I am sure they have improved my logic skills to the point where I can’t really score any higher. I think I’m going to have to teach myself maths again as it’s holding my score back. Can you even buy maths puzzlebooks?

IQ isn’t supposed to improve more than ten points in a lifetime. That’s funny, because mine has improved 18 points since the first IQ test I took as a teenager. I suspect my processed/vegetarian teenaged diet may have been holding me back. I’m sure adequate B12, folate and choline (eggs only) are quite important. Omega 3s are probably important for the 10% of the population who for genetic reasons can’t make their own.

I’m setting myself the task of breaking the 150 barrier this year. Not that I’m being competitive or want to beat my partner or anything you understand…

There are some extreme neurodiversity aspies out there who simply regard neurotypical/stupid on a scale with aspie/intelligent at the other end. I don’t think that. I know people just as intelligent as me who are far more social. I do think, however, that many of the genetic polymorphisms involved in asperger’s syndrome tend to increase intelligence. I also think there are other intelligence increasing genes that don’t affect sociability.

And I think there’s a good 20-40 points variation in the IQ that is influenced both by diet during pregnancy/lactation/childhood, and also by the environment. I was very lucky as a baby, because my mother was a trained nursery nurse who spent an awful lot of time mentally stimulating my sister and I as we grew. As a result I’m quite right-wing in my ideas about how children should be raised. I don’t care who is doing the raising (mum, dad, nursery nurse, whoever), as long as the child gets appropriate mental stimulation – something they may well not get at home, or in a nursery setting. I don’t really like neglectful mothers. It’s all I can do to keep myself from hot-housing my dog. Bless him.

Written by alienrobotgirl

30 January, 2008 at 6:02 pm

Posted in Personal Diary

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Are (most) humans able to generate their own omega-3’s? I have never heard that before. Where can I learn more?

    Erik

    31 January, 2008 at 10:38 am

  2. Hi Erik,It’s common medical knowledge, just not something in the public consciousness. Humans synthesise EPA, DHA etc from the 18:3 precursor alpha linolenic acid, a fatty acid widely available in foods. These EFAs are made by desaturation and elongation enzymes. There are several common variants of these enzymes. One polymorphism of a gene called FADS2 appears in about 10% of the population, and appears to make it harder for people to synthesise their own “essential” omega 3s.

    Alien Robot Girl

    31 January, 2008 at 2:26 pm


Leave a Reply

