Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

The Biomed Extremists

with 10 comments

Kevin Leitch is the father of an autistic girl and the author of a blog that I respect. In recent months Leitch has been attacked by the biomed community for speaking out against the vaccination theory of autism, chelation, and vitamin megadosing. One prominent member of the mercury brigade responded by using the name and image of Leitch’s autistic daughter in emotive propaganda against him, at which point Leitch stopped blogging for a while, because much as he could cope with abuse directed at him, bringing his daughter into things was inappropriate. This is always a risk that internet debunkers have to take. When you start threatening people’s intensely held religious beliefs, it really upsets them.

In a blog post today, Leitch questions the behaviour of parents and DAN! doctors who experiment on autistic children. It is worth a read. I’ve seen stories like the ones that Leitch mentions over and over again on yahoo groups.

It’s very painful to visit those biomed forums and start reading the things that these parents are doing. When I read about the huge doses of vitamins and the chelation chemicals they are using, I get very angry. The parents even know that their children almost always respond negatively to these supplements, but they still give them because they are so desperate for their children to be ‘normal’. People seem think it’s okay, because these parents are trying to cure their ‘monstrous’, children of a ‘devastating disorder’ that will ‘ruin their lives’. I hate this attitude. If those children were neurotypical, their parents behaviour would be considered child abuse.

You see, I have been there as an adult with unofficially diagnosed asperger’s syndrome. I have willingly spent thousands of pounds experimenting on myself with supplements. I know what it feels like when you give an autistic child these supplements. People think that vitamins are harmless, but they are not. Especially not when you have a balance of neurotransmitters as sensitive and delicate as an autistic. During the last few months alone I’ve given myself a limp in my DVT leg with vitamin K, I’ve given myself serotonin syndrome with riboflavin, I’ve amined myself with folate and given myself a resurgence of eczema that took two months to clear, I’ve glutamated myself with B12, and I’ve given myself brain fog with B6. Sulphites – which cause the same reactions in autistic children as sulphur based chelators do – make me feel like death. You may as well bring back smacking, at least that’s a short-lived pain.

One might assert that most of these parents must be autistic themselves due to their complete failure to empathise with their children. Talk about pygmalion syndrome. Is it only ever neurotypicals who want autistic people to be normal? Or are some parents so afraid that they might be autistic themselves that they have to hate autism and find reasons that it isn’t genetic? Is this like the myth of the closet homosexual who is the most publicly homophobic person? I think thee protest too much?

An example of the paranoia and lack of medical knowledge in these groups is demonstrated in one of the messageboard quotes Leitch came across:

The past few days he’s had white chunks in his stool. Loser than normal stools, very light in color, almost like mustard with dark specs. DAN doc says yeast does NOT come out in poop … then what is it?

What is it with this dirty fascination with stool that the yeast/parasite/bacteria/SCD/GAPS people have? My dog does craps like this when he eats nothing but fat meat. Does that make him autistic?! Is he dumping yeast?! No! The white lumps people spot in poo are not ‘balls of candida’ or anything else alive. They are undigested fats that have saponified (turned to soap) due to the normal presence of hydrochloric acid in the stomach. The colour of poo is determined by how much chlorophyll and haem (heme) you consume, as well as whether you are breaking down your own haem into bilirubin. It’s no big deal. I’ve known people freak out and stop doing failsafe because their poo went yellow when they stopped eating so many greens and so much aged red meat.

Leitch links to an old post of his where he describes a mother who is chelating her autistic son. This post contains a video which people should watch. I don’t think many people actually know what an autistic child looks or sounds like. You will be struck by how normal this little boy is. He sits quietly for two hours and writes down bus timetables on a board to keep himself amused. Is that something that needs ‘curing’?

This post demonstrates such a great example of a typical mercury-mom approach. Check out the boy’s lab report at the bottom of the page. Virtually every heavy metal is in the low-normal range, except for aluminium and lead, both of which are only marginally over the normal range. This is clearly not a case of heavy metal poisoning, but people are so fixated on heavy metals being the cause of autism that they ignore the evidence before their very eyes.

Written by alienrobotgirl

15 February, 2008 at 8:57 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have to agree with you and Kev that many treatments for autism amount to medical experimentation without sound science and are likely causing more harm than good. I greatly prefer working with diet over using drugs or even mega-refined-vitamins. On the other hand, I am reluctant to trust “scientific” studies bought and paid by big pharma or the US CDC that claim or imply that vaccination does not play a role in autism. I would like to see an impartial scientific investigation of children who do not receive vaccination versus those who do. Anecdotal evidence suggests the frequency of autism among unvaccinated children is MUCH lower than among vaccinated children. I haven’t seen any updates, but I found a two year old article “No Autism for Unvaccinated Amish?” by Dan Olmsted, who is an investigative reporter accused of being biased against vaccinations. The evidence that he cites from Homefirst Health Services on much lower rates of both autism and asthma among unvaccinated childred is anecdotal and potentially biased – but certainly worth investigating scientifically. Such a study would be pocket change for the CDC, but with their vested interest in vaccination, they would never consider it.I certainly do not believe that vaccinations are an “only” cause of autism, but I do suspect they could play an important role, although I’m not sure anyone really has a firm handle on how they might be involved and to what extent. There are other potential environmental aggravating factors, including diet (child and parents), antibiotics, other common medications, as well as exposure to natural toxins and poisons and man-made chemicals. So, I’m also not convinced that autism is ALL genetic, though I suspect that’s an important component as well. I wonder if environmental influences on gene expression may be involved, especially in growing children (or even fetuses for that matter), though I know little about it.

    Bryan - oz4caster

    18 February, 2008 at 2:59 am

  2. Thanks for the kind words 🙂

    Kev

    18 February, 2008 at 9:48 am

  3. I was just reading this and thought you might be interested:Autism and bone mass

    Sherrie

    18 February, 2008 at 10:53 pm

  4. Hi Bryan,Of course asthma and autism rates are lower amongst the Amish! Since when did Amish people eat additives? I’d be willing to bet large amounts of money that Amish people eat eggs or porridge for breakfast, and meat, potatoes and a traditional (i.e low salicylate) vegetable for tea.

    alienrobotgirl

    20 February, 2008 at 8:40 pm

  5. Hi Sherrie, this is due to a vitamin D receptor polymorphism found commonly in autism. A few people who have had their genetics analysed on my group have found they have it too.Of course GFCF probably contributes in some cases. GFCFers usually don’t understand the difference between A1 and A2 milk.Sometimes it’s a case of ‘tough, that’s life’ – since calcium supplements can be bad for the disproportionate number of autistics who have epilepsy, as they tend to trigger seizures. My partner is very sensitive to calcium supplements.I noticed several interesting articles on the same site:Study Links Regions Of Two Chromosomes To Susceptibility For Type Of AutismDifferent Genes May Cause Autism In Boys And GirlsAccelerated Head Growth Can Predict Autism Before Behavioral Symptoms Start, Study Suggests

    alienrobotgirl

    20 February, 2008 at 9:13 pm

  6. Hi Kev, I’ve no idea how you got here – but nice to see you! I hope you investigate the failsafe diet. It has made a huge difference to my ability to cope with the world and I wish more autistics and families of autistics knew about it.

    alienrobotgirl

    20 February, 2008 at 9:18 pm

  7. My child is loving and severely autistic, he does not talk, he likes to put things in his mouth, playing with pebbles in his hands non-stop, running around the house making various noises. He eats healthy and well, mostly whole-food, organic if possible. He looks normal if you only look at him for a second or two. we run every day for up to three miles non-stop. However, I want him to be able to live by himself (since I will not be here forever), and he is not able to do that. It is very different for parents who have asperger kids or high-functioning autism to want their children to be “perfect” vs. parents like me, who are trying to give their kids a fighting chance to survive in this world when we are gone.what is the option left for me? follow my kid’s neurologist suggestion, just give it up as there is nothing you can do/change; or try (experiment) various bio-med to hope for the best?I choose the latter, with hope, always!

    nuhai

    15 March, 2008 at 2:27 am

  8. But you don’t need to do this Nuhai. What your child needs is to be on the Failsafe diet, and genetic profiling from Yasko (i.e. non-random supplementation).

    alienrobotgirl

    15 March, 2008 at 4:45 pm

  9. I’m sure you’ve heard of the connection betw vitamin D deficiency and autism? fibromyalgia? (scroll to 8/16/20007)http://heartscanblog.blogspot.com/search?q=vitamin+d+autismhttp://drmccleary.com/Personally I think that many conditions are benefitted by Vitamin D, A and fish oil (including myself). Is fish oil deficiency a DSM-V diagnosis???Your posts are wicked, Wicked — keep it up! You’re so amusing and I hope you publish your epic book soon…-g

    Dr. B G

    3 April, 2008 at 3:39 am

  10. Hi Dr BG – My condition worsens significantly during the winter – I have a UVB light which I use regularly that makes a big difference to how I feel. Dr Yasko tests for vitamin D receptor polymorphisms that make one resistant to vitamin D. Most of us seem to have ACE deletions. VDRs seem to interact with the renin-angiotensin system and make the effects of the ACE deletion worse. Seems to relate to the ability to cope with stress.

    alienrobotgirl

    3 April, 2008 at 12:45 pm


Leave a Reply

