Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Are you an altie?

with 2 comments

I’m really pleased to discover that I’m not an altie. I answered no to every question except one.

There was a time when I was still naive enough that I might have said yes to 3-4 of those statements, including:

125. If you think that ancient people using nothing but herbs, witch-doctoring and an outdoor lifestyle lived long, disease-free lives, you might be an altie.

Sorry Weston A. Price Foundation members. I’m not that naive anymore – and I was never totally that naive. Unlike most WAPF members, I’ve actually read Nutrition and Physical Degeneration. What surprised me at the time was that Price barely mentions the diet of the natives he studied, and the only statistics he gathered were the counting of caries. He didn’t give them physical exams. He didn’t find out how long they lived. He just made a general assessment that they ‘looked healthy’. You know, people who have asthma and fibromyalgia look healthy too.

Something I did answer yes to:

64. If you’ve ever grown/brewed your own jar/crock of “Kombucha tea”, yup, you’re an altie.

I tried it, it seemed to do something. I thought it might be helping. It took me several months to figure out that the way I react to kombucha tea is the way I react to any tea. It’s the theanine.

Written by alienrobotgirl

25 April, 2008 at 4:59 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do you mean threonine or theanine? Sorry I just wanted to check.

    All the recent posts have been brilliant!

    Elena

    piratehyde

    26 April, 2008 at 10:26 am

  2. Doh! You’re right. Thanks for the correction Elena!

    alienrobotgirl

    26 April, 2008 at 10:12 pm


Leave a Reply

