Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Food chemical intolerance medical and scientific references

with 5 comments

Food chemical intolerance medical and scientific references for intolerance to salicylates, amines, glutamates and additives are now available on CiteULike.

It’s half past three in the morning and I’ve just finished adding them all! There are almost six hundred and fifty abstracts available as of this moment.

There are a handful of full text PDFs available too under the tag ‘fulltext’.

These are mostly taken from the Feingold website, Fed up with food additives, and the RPAH website, but I keep stumbling across new ones all the time.

Phew. What a way to spend boxing day. This has been epic. I’m going to get some sleep now!

Written by alienrobotgirl

27 December, 2008 at 4:34 am

Posted in The Science of FCI

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Half past three in the morning? Do you sleep? Interesting set of links, the first few pages that I’ve gotten through that is…

    Peter

    peterdee

    2 January, 2009 at 11:16 pm

  2. Brilliant blog.

    I would greatly appreciate your advice, if you don’t mind. I’m a seventeen year old. I probably have Asperger’s syndrome.

    My question is: can casein cause constipation? I’ve had some large pieces of cheese the last days. I seem to get horribly constipated. I’m afraid I’ll have to give up cream (about 1/2 cup daily). I’m into Optimal Nutrition and I eat Failsafe compatible, even low-fiber. Some occasional chocolate sneaks in, but I prefer white chocolate, for the low fiber and chemical content. Besides cocoa gives me slightly painful, “clicky” joints (arthritis?).

    Your posts on GABA are really helping me out, BTW. It’s easier to get up and just manipulate my GABA levels, then attend school and not fluke on exams because I get nervous like hell and forget all my axioms.

    Cheers,
    Emil.

    emilhenry

    21 January, 2009 at 1:34 pm

  3. Hi Emil, yes.

    This is a common reaction to A1 cow’s milk casein, I get it too, see the gluten/casein page on the main site. You should be able to tolerate goat’s and sheep’s milk without this problem. Most people do not have to give up cream or butter. There is hardly any casein in it.

    I also get clicky joints and also back pain from eating the amines in chocolate!

    alienrobotgirl

    22 January, 2009 at 6:51 pm

  4. Hello,this is my first post on your site. I would first like to thank you, trully, as you are one of the most talented health authors on the net. Believe me i have looked! I have a few questions and i hope you have the time. Thanks for your time in advance. I am 19 With painful joints,sinus problems, some brain fog- easily distracted and alittle forgetful. I also have had atheletes foot for years. When i was a child I had a pituatary insuffiency and was not developing which i attribute to high insulin levels- i was very fat. I am at a good weight now. My problem is this, i cannot and do not tolerate carbs well at all. I BINGE on fruits and nuts. I can only imagine what would happen if i ate bread or rice. I was following a paleo diet but i didnt feel a hundred percent, really tired and groggy in the mornings – im better with that now but not yet a hundred percent. My question is this I am now following a zero carb diet. I eat red meat, i am now switching to Lamb, i eat eggs and butter, thats it. My eggs are special and have lots of vitamin E and iodine. You said in a post that Alot of protien can cause amines to form in the gut, but considering my requirnments or limitations, No fresh shell fish, chicken makes me sick, fish doesnt mix well, I do okay with some A2 dairy but im still not sure. What should i do? Should i continue to hammer this diet? Thanks Oh its pretty cool an IQ test i took w]once said i use both sides of my brain too. But you have aa higher IQ. =)

    bitbythehealthbug

    17 March, 2009 at 3:51 am

  5. Hi Bitby

    Sorry you’re on such a limited diet. I know how it feels. I don’t think you will find a better diet than the one you are doing. I have ended up in the same corner as you.

    You mention that as a child you had pituitary insufficiency. Considering your symptom set is very similar to mine and I have just been diagnosed with subclinical hypothyroidism, I wonder whether your pituitary gland is making enough TSH and your T4 and T3 levels are high enough? Many people with chronic fatigue and fibromyalgia discover they have low pituitary function and low TSH/T4.

    I would consider speaking to an open minded endocrinologist who is willing to treat you aggressively with replacement pituitary hormones. Patient advocacy thyroid organisations in your country may be able to put you in touch with one.

    alienrobotgirl

    22 May, 2009 at 8:42 pm


Leave a Reply

