Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Even my parents' dog is hypothyroid

leave a comment »

I’ve felt rather better today. Definitely not back to where I was, but my breathing problem has (for now) almost subsided, and my head is clearer. I still have the lump in my throat. I’m still mood-swingy, but not nearly as bad. I’m back to my cheerful self. Perhaps too cheerful, but I’ll enjoy it while it lasts. It’s nice being able to look people in the eye when you talk to them.

Yesterday I was extremely tired, slept for 10 hours and couldn’t wake up. I had bad breathing and I could feel that lump in my throat all day. I have no idea what my body is doing anymore, it just seems to swing in whatever direction it wants without stimulation from food chemicals. I think it’s got to the point where all the normal rules of engagement have been withdrawn, reshuffled, folded up, and stuck in a top hat.

This morning I was back to 6 hours sleep (I’m an eight hour girl) and waking up with annoying tinnitus. I think my NMDA receptors are overactive. I actually felt hungry this morning, for the first time in about five or six months. I actually managed to eat 2,000 kcals today. Wild. Now I feel bloated. My basal body temperature yesterday rose to 35.9°C (96.6°F), and today was 36.1°C (97°F) –  (normal range: 36.3-37.1°C or 97.3–98.8°F). I feel stronger today than I have been. Like I can actually grip things in my hands now. I’ve had NO leg pain ALL DAY. I have no idea if this is the thyroxine, or whether the vitamin A and E I have been taking is working.

So could it all be as simple as body temperature with me? Enzyme kinetics are a regular Goldilocks: there is an optimum body temperature. If your body temperature is too low, your enzymes work very slowly, including all the ones that create and destroy neurotransmitters and detoxify plant poisons. If your body temperature is too high, the enzymes start to fold up and stop working. That results in death inside a couple of hours  from heat exhaustion. If your body temperature is “just right”, like baby bear’s porridge, that’s when your enzymes function best.

It’s quite impressive that I’ve held this off for five years with diet, when you think about it.

I found some interesting links about thyroid disease in dogs on one of the UK thyroid websites. Apparently dogs develop hair loss, chronic skin conditions, and black pigmentation over their groin and hind quarters when they get hypothyroidism. One of my parents’ dogs, Dylan, an overweight border terrier, has had a chronic skin condition and hair loss for ages, and I’m sure he’s food chemical sensitive. He has black pigmentation on his groin, belly and inside legs. He’s also aggressive, yet lacking in confidence and clingy. Poor lad. The vet keeps treating him with anti-fungals and antibiotics that don’t do anything. I think he might need a thyroid function test. He probably has a much more serious condition than me! At least some good has come out of this if I can fix the dog!

Written by alienrobotgirl

22 May, 2009 at 10:30 pm

Posted in Thyroid

Leave a Reply

