Autoimmune Thyroid Disease

An Unfortunate and Lengthy Adventure in Misdiagnosis

Adrenal insufficiency and hypothyroidism continued

with 2 comments

Well, following on from yesterday, the hydrocortisone cream has made a definite difference. I have been free of brain fog for most of the day, though I’m now feeling quite weak in the muscles – possibly because, as described, my testosterone levels have tanked already, though it has to be said, the muscle weakness reduced after I took a multivitamin. Taking a multivitamin is an achievement for me. Under normal circumstances I would have reacted negatively to the B vitamins already.

The improvement has been quite amazing. I woke at a slightly warmer temperature and remained at or above 36°C all day. I even achieved a whopping 36.7°C earlier. I’m concerned about overdoing the hydrocortisone cream and getting myself into a thyroid crisis over that, so I’m going to take it easy, perhaps even skip my thyroxine tomorrow, if I can bear to psychologically. The only negative has been a slight skin reaction with my eczema, which I expected and which has been a revelation. I will post more on this.

I’ve found some very good adrenal fatigue information on the Stop the Thyroid Madness website. There’s information on the symptoms of low cortisol, including a link to different stages of adrenal fatigue (I think I’m around stage 4), and information on how to treat adrenal fatigue.

I don’t even need to sit down and do the four tests described – I already know I fail them. I have the orthostatic hypotension and I’ve been almost fainting, my pupils bother me, bright lights bother me. I have an insanely fluctuating temperature and I’ve been getting hot/sweating sensations, particularly at night, at stupidly low body temperatures.

Why can’t anything be simple? At least with my brain restored to me I have a better chance of getting what I want from my doctor.

Written by alienrobotgirl

8 June, 2009 at 12:49 am

Posted in Thyroid

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] predicted this, including the shape of the curve, with the unusual peak at night. I actually predicted I’d be at a stage 4. In fact, I’m almost at a stage […]

  2. […] predicted this, including the shape of the curve, with the unusual peak at night. I actually predicted I’d be at a stage 4. In fact, I’m almost at a stage […]


Leave a Reply

